One antenna for scanner AND CB? Would this work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

carsonhowe22

Hey guys. I'm a newbie when it comes to scanners, but I plan on putting a 996XT in my truck soon. I was just curious if it would be possible to use an ABSCANCS antenna ( Laird Tech ABSCANCS - $39.95 : The Antenna Farm :: , Your Two Way Radio Source! ) on the roof of my truck for both my scanner and CB radio? Is there a way that it can be done and not cause any undesired effects?

If this is not possible, would mounting a CB antenna on the roof or on the bed rail somewhere interfere with the scanner antenna?

LtDoc

That antenna isn't going to do well at CB frequencies. Like it or not, a separate scanner antenna and CB antenna would be your best bet. Would one interfere or affect the other? Some probably, but nothing you can't deal with.
- 'Doc

mancow

Database Admin
You will roast the RF amplification in the scanner the second you key up that CB.

LtDoc

Can you 'roast' a scanner with a CB radio? Yes you can, but it isn't a 'sure thing' by any means. If that scanner has a CB frequency programmed into it, then it's much more likely to get 'toasted' than if it doesn't. The 'best' thing is to not use the scanner on frequencies below 30 Mhz. The likelihood of a CB radio interfering with VHF or UHF frequencies just isn't too likely. That assumes the CB radio is a normal unmodified one. If it's been modified there's no telling what's been done to it and all bets are off.
- 'Doc

KM4WLV

I've seen more times that not scanners and commercial radios alike get toasted because of putting 2 radios, or scanner and radio on the same antenna and connecting them by a "jumper".