Fan Dipole Cutting Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

LIScanner101

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
I have a Channel Master Monitenna 5094A that I am trying to put in my attic due to the wicked winds we have gotten here on Long Island last couple years. It's about 10' tall so I know there's no way it's going to fit vertically. I am almost ready to put it up there and just tuck the bottom element down inside a wall (there'd be sheetrock on both sides) but this will leave several feet covered by something solid. I know this is going to affect the Rx capability but I think tilting the antenna sideways will be almost as bad - almost like a "six of these, half a dozen of the other" situations.

Here is the frequency coverage of this antenna:

Low band 30-50 Mhz
High band 148-175Mhz
UHF 450-470Mhz
UHF-T 470-512Mhz
UHF-HB 800-912Mhz

Nothing I currently monitor on Long Island is lower than 46MHz. Therefore, I was wondering if I can just cut-down the vertical elements a little to tune the low-end coverage to 46MHz? This will also give me a shorter antenna that would fit better in the attic.

Is there some formula I need to follow in order to determine the proper cut-down length of my Monitenna? I know with whips it's pretty straightforward, but with a fan dipole like the Monitenna it might be more complex...

Thanks,
-John

nanZor

I wouldn't cut that down:

234 / F mhz = length in feet (quarter wave each side), so at 46 mhz, that's about 5 feet needed on each side. If you cut it, you'll be raising the resonant frequency above 46 mhz.

Then again, placing it against sheetrock will do the same so.... but man, I wouldn't want to cut a legendary antenna like that.