Going mobile with handheld question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave2582

Curr: Hudson, NH Lived: Tewksbury/Billerica MA
I have a question regarding putting an antenna on my car. I have one of those shark fin style antenna for my hyundai sonata. I don't have GPS. I don't use blue tooth, and I don't use satellite. So basically I was wondering if I could remove that antenna, and to put in place of it, an antenna for my handheld (Pro-106).

I'm no pro at making a mobile unit, but any help would be appreciated. What would I need for wiring and all? Or should I go to a local chain electronics shop and have them set it up?

Or should I use a mag mount type antenna? I'm just throwing all these ideas out there. I drive a good distance every day between 2 jobs and home, and didn't know if there's a better way than just hooking up the handheld to my car speakers and using the outlet to power it on.

Thanks.

trap5858

Premium Subscriber
I run my pro-106 from the cigarette lighter with Alkaline batteries and the black battery holder, the scanner itself is mounted on a floor mount and I have a Larsen 150-400-800 NMO antenna on a mag mount. It works very well for me, it was simple to set up and not very expensive.

dmg1969

Many die hard radio guys are against magnetic mounts, but that's what I use. I have a Bearcat BC125AT handheld in my Hyundai Tucson in a cup holder mount and I use Radio Shack's magnetic mount antenna on my roof. I use a wideband antenna because I listen to frequencies from VHF low to UHF. It's just the option that is best for me.

If I listened to a dedicated frequency range, I might opt for an NMO mount Larsen or Comet antenna with a non-drilled mount. I also am not a fan of drilling for an antenna for just my scanner hobby. If I was in the emergency services or into amateur radio, that might change my mind. Again, do what works best for you. My opinion would be to start temporary and move to permanent. Just my two cents.

awattam

Dave,