Best replacement of stock HP2 antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

slim4511

What would be my best option for replacing the stock antenna in the Home Patrol 2? Thanks.

trp2525

What would be my best option for replacing the stock antenna in the Home Patrol 2? Thanks.

Your question does not give anywhere near enough information for anyone to answer it accurately.

1. Do you want a rubber duck replacement, indoor (i.e. attic mount ) or outdoor antenna (i.e. roof mount)?
2. What band(s) do you want/need to monitor (VHF-Low, VHF-Air, VHF-High, UHF, UHF-T, 800-900 MHz, etc.)?
3. What is your budget for replacing the stock antenna?

N5TWB

trp2525 asks good questions that you should answer but I'll just throw out that I found the good old Radio Shack 800 MHz scanner antenna has worked great for me.

slim4511

Thanks for the responses. I am brand new to this and my desire is to listen to local emergency depts. PD and FD from home as well as while travelling in my vehicle. I do plan to get the GPS unit for using in my car. Unless I absolutely have to, I do not plan to install an attic antenna and definitely will not be installing a roof mount antenna. That said, it will be a rubber duck antenna that would hopefully perform better than the stock antenna to ensure I get the most out of the HP2. Budget is to be less than $200.

slim4511

I probably should not have listed $200 as my budget for a replacement HP2 antenna. I just wanted to portray that I am willing to spend whatever is necessary to get the best antenna available to be used with this unit.

slim4511

I found more information on the equipment used by the Public Safety entities in my home county - Oakland County, MI. It is a state-of-the-art digital Voice over Internet Protocol 800 MHz system