Basic Antenna / Reception Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mobilman44

Hi!
I'm pretty new to the world of radios and scanners so please go easy on me.......

I want a better antenna for my portable Uniden 436, but have gotten confused with specs and such.

It appears that the transmissions I'm interested in are in the 400 and 800 MHZ range.

So, if I get an "800 MHz" antenna, will it also improve on the 400 MHz listening? Or do I need two antennas for optimal reception.

And lastly, would a 6dba be "better" than say a 2 dba?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!

I_am_Alpha1

Hi!
I'm pretty new to the world of radios and scanners so please go easy on me.......

I want a better antenna for my portable Uniden 436, but have gotten confused with specs and such.

It appears that the transmissions I'm interested in are in the 400 and 800 MHZ range.

So, if I get an "800 MHz" antenna, will it also improve on the 400 MHz listening? Or do I need two antennas for optimal reception.

And lastly, would a 6dba be "better" than say a 2 dba?

Your help will be greatly appreciated!