Compression Tool Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

asamon

I apologize if this is the wrong forum to ask this question, but here it is anyhow. I am new to working with radios, but am charged with installing and maintaining motorola 2way radios at my place of employment. I frequently need to terminate rg-58 coax with mini-uhf connectors to attach antennas to our mobile radios. Jamming the connector into the coax has proved rather challenging. I see multiple compression tools to do this for rg-59, rg-6 type cables, but not rg-58. Is there a compression tool out there that does what I want? Or is there some trick that I need to be schooled on? I hope someone can help! Thanks alot!!!

Sincerely,

Andy

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
I'd contact the manufacturer (or distributor) of the specific connectors you are installing and ask them.

FLATGUNPHIL

As far as I know, there is no compression-type tool that works on mini-u's. Since all I see in my catalogs are F-type, BNC, or RCA, I think you will need to use the crimp-style.

Mini-u?? WHY

Phil KK6PE

fineshot1

asamon said:
I apologize if this is the wrong forum to ask this question, but here it is anyhow. I am new to working with radios, but am charged with installing and maintaining motorola 2way radios at my place of employment. I frequently need to terminate rg-58 coax with mini-uhf connectors to attach antennas to our mobile radios. Jamming the connector into the coax has proved rather challenging. I see multiple compression tools to do this for rg-59, rg-6 type cables, but not rg-58. Is there a compression tool out there that does what I want? Or is there some trick that I need to be schooled on? I hope someone can help! Thanks alot!!!

Sincerely,

Andy