Really confused - I must be missing alot

Status
Not open for further replies.

sfish69

OK....here goes....my first post on this site. I have been reading for a long time but I have hit a wall. Here goes.

I have been scanning for about 10 years off and on - purely as a hobby - I have acquired enough info to be dangerous. It must be said that all my knowledge comes from forums like these. I don't get half of what you all are talking about, (truth be told, I get the descriptions of what you all are saying, I just cannot connect that to real world implementations and "what would that option really mean if I checked it").

I just want to find that "scanner buddy" that tells me what is best and off I would go...happy in my bliss.

Here is my dilemma. I have decided to purchase the GRE 500 as my next scanner. I am seriously leaning towards the 500 over the 600 only because of its portability. I also will be listening a lot from my house.

I have a "WBD-40 Discone Base Antenna", at least it looks like that one :). I am looking for recommendations for a 1-3 antenna system that will let me pick up everything in the Glastonbury CT area. I want to hear the CSP (digital), local and municipalities.

Yes, I want it all.

Can someone please give me a detailed list of what they think I should get and why. It should be said that I will also need help in figuring out how the heck to connect more than one antenna to a scanner. Like I said, I have blindly made my way through the scanner world to this point but really want to take it to the next level.

Your patience and help is really appreciated
- John

mjthomas59

A couple of quick questions for you.

#1 are you planning on having all 3 of these antennas connected to your scanner? Further, are you wanting your scanner to try and receive from all 3 of them at once.

#2 I would have to assume that you are wanting to setup 2-3 base antennas to connect to your psr-500.