driven array vs. parasitic array antennas

Status
Not open for further replies.

inblo0m

Hi everyone...

I'm a newbie and there's a question that i'm eager to ask...

In terms of gain, does the parasitic array have a larger gain than the driven array (with the same number of elements)? Can I ask why? Please can I have your answers? Thank you so much...

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Interesting question, but I don't think you can really make a comparison. A log-periodic antenna with the same boom length and number of elements as a comparable yagi is going to have less gain. But a plane-reflector array or a collinear array with the same number of elements might have more.

inblo0m

Ahh...ok...

So what's the explanation about this? Is there some kind of equation for this? Thank you so much for the reply...(",)

zz0468

QRT
Banned
The explanation is simply that different antennas have different performance. Sure, there's an equation for everything.

prcguy