Recording SW broadcasts

Status
Not open for further replies.

dnlbrrg

Hey guys.

I'm brand new to the radio thing and all I've been doing is listening to SW broadcasts and SSB.

I'm wondering if there is a way to record broadcasts? Well, I know some use a computer for it, but I'm wondering if there is an easier way?

All I have right now is a SW radio, it has the line in, line out, headphone plug, and the antenna plugs. Is it possible to connect this to, say, an ipod or a zune and record?

I know it's kind of a broad question, I'm just really "green" and inexperienced. Any help would be appreciated.

k9rzz

Hey guys.

I'm brand new to the radio thing and all I've been doing is listening to SW broadcasts and SSB.

I'm wondering if there is a way to record broadcasts? Well, I know some use a computer for it, but I'm wondering if there is an easier way?

All I have right now is a SW radio, it has the line in, line out, headphone plug, and the antenna plugs. Is it possible to connect this to, say, an ipod or a zune and record?

I know it's kind of a broad question, I'm just really "green" and inexperienced. Any help would be appreciated.

Run a cable from your radio to your computer. Start up the recording software, and record.

Easier than that?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Given the proper adapters to fit the Ipod/Zune and your radio, I don't see why not. You say you have a line out on your radio - you're halfway home.

No doubt there are some apps out there that you could use to tailor or listen to selected recordings, and maybe to control/record them as well. Sounds like you need to make like a gopher, and dig a little...

best regards...Mike

k9rzz

So, enlighten me, whats the diff between running a wire to your iPod/whatever vs running a wire to your computer? Running an 'ap' vs software?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus