George Marti dead at 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

n5ims

George Marti died over the weekend. He was 95 years old. Those that have worked in the broadcast industry best know him as the inventor of the Remote Pickup Unit (aka Marti unit) and refiner of the radio studio to transmitter link (between them, in use by an estimated 80% of all AM/FM broadcast stations worldwide when he sold his company to Broadcast Electronics in 1994.

Radio innovator, former Cleburne mayor dead at 95

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
In my earlier years, I worked as a radio DJ. Every station I worked at (Wichita, Montgomery, Auburn, Opelika and Columbus, GA) that did remote broadcasts (sports, store promotions, etc.) used a Marti unit. Always worked like a charm.

kv5e

T¹ ÆS Ø
Premium Subscriber
Wow, Marti made remote pickup and STL very cost effective. A real help for folks in smaller markets who could not buy the high end STL systems back in the 60's and later.

One bad thing about the Marti STL receivers at the TX site.......they had barn door front ends. In 1998 when we started building out 940 MHz ReFLEX systems, if you were at a site with a Marti STL, you had to use a bandpass cavity on the STL before the receiver. A few locations I had to help with grid dish realignments as the original implementations did not have enough link budget after a cavity was used inline.

Craig

KX4KDH

Database Admin
I am quite familiar with the Marti System. Used to see WNOR, and several others use one all the time at remote broadcasts. I chuckle any time I hear a remote broadcast on any station here on the Outer Banks. They use cell phones for remote broadcast... I'm almost embarrassed for them.

jpilger

Premium Subscriber