Con + and FL, CC channel search...

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
If CC changes (at midnight for example), how can I configure DSD+ to follow ? I noticed once I remove antennae, DSD+ attempts to change frequency, but remains on one frequency, specified in the .bat file.


Cheers...
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
Thanks.

Um, how is this achievable please ?


START FMP24 -i2 -o20001 -P0.0 -fxxx.xxxxx -_3 -b-12.5 -g29.7
START FMP24 -i1 -o20002 -P0.0 -rv -_3 -b-12.5 -g29.7
START DSDPLUS -rc -fr -i20001 -e
START DSDPLUS -rv -fr -o1M -Pwav -e -i20002


That is my setup. I will provide a screen-grab of the issue for clarity.

Thanks.
 
Last edited:

mrc333777

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
72
Location
Barberton, Ohio
start FMP24 -rc -i1 -a1 -o20001 -P0 -f858.5125 -_1 -wsl50.880
start FMP24 -rv -i2 -a1 -o20002 -P0 -f999.9999 -_1 -wsl290.880
start DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -fa -v3 -O NUL -_1 -wsl530.880 -wss100.200 -wel50.50 -wcl530.1100
start DSDPlus -Pwav -e -rv -i20002 -fa -v3 -O NUL -_1 -wsl670.880 -wss100.200 -wel530.50 -wcl1000.1100

this works for me
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
4,599
Location
Connecticut
You are missing the -rc from your FMP24 batch file for the control channel.

chris

Thanks.

Um, how is this achievable please ?


START FMP24 -i2 -o20001 -P0.0 -fxxx.xxxxx -_3 -b-12.5 -g29.7
START FMP24 -i1 -o20002 -P0.0 -rv -_3 -b-12.5 -g29.7
START DSDPLUS -rc -fr -i20001 -e
START DSDPLUS -rv -fr -o1M -Pwav -e -i20002


That is my setup. I will provide a screen-grab of the issue for clarity.

Thanks.
 

dave3825

* * * * * * * * * * * *
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
7,647
Location
Suffolk County NY
I noticed once I remove antennae, DSD+ attempts to change frequency, but remains on one frequency, specified in the .bat file.


Cheers...


I could be wrong on this, but do you have all the freqs in your frequencies file in the dsdplus folder? I mean that you start the program with a freq in the bat file, but if either the cc changes, or you launch fmp24 and the freq in the bat file is not active, fmp24 has no way to know what freq to try to tune to.
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
f file is correct.


Adding -rc there worked. Thanks guys! I really appreciate it. This thread may serve to help / learn others too.

START FMP24 -rc -i2 -o20001 -P0.0 -fxxx.xxxxxx -_3 -b-12.5 -g25.4
 
Last edited:

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
In in the past, I added -rc to the first line, but FMP failed to run. I will try and replicate the fault. I may of had an extra space there or something? Not sure. Will let you guys know. -I did not analyse the fault message, if any. I think it just quit out.


Another question. Can one use 2 dongles feeding 2 CC's into a single instance of DSD+ fl ? I imagine the piping would have to be done over 2 different TCP/IP ports (or Virtual cable, etc). This would be cool. Even using 1 dongle, as featured with Uni Trunker. Where I am, there is an 8 site network. Neighbour list CC's could be piped in to show the whole network, which would be cool!


Thanks again guys.
 
Last edited:

EarHoles

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
249
Location
New Zealand
Damn, all this time i have editing the bat file, opening and closing untill i find which CC is now active like a animal.
Life changer
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
In in the past, I added -rc to the first line, but FMP failed to run. I will try and replicate the fault. I may of had an extra space there or something? Not sure. Will let you guys know. -I did not analyse the fault message, if any. I think it just quit out.


Another question. Can one use 2 dongles feeding 2 CC's into a single instance of DSD+ fl ? I imagine the piping would have to be done over 2 different TCP/IP ports (or Virtual cable, etc). This would be cool. Even using 1 dongle, as featured with Uni Trunker. Where I am, there is an 8 site network. Neighbour list CC's could be piped in to show the whole network, which would be cool!


Thanks again guys.
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
I run several .bat files with different CC f. That way I can find the CC. Some systems alternate between 2 f's, others 4, which requires 4 different .bat files. Hope this helps ya ;)
 
Last edited:

LimaZulu

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
348
Why not putting all CC's in FMP24.scanlist, and run FMP that is dedicated to CC with -s1 option?
I run mine like this 24/7, system is changing CC every 24 hours and all works just fine.
Other than that you can always create one batch file with menu to switch to every option you want without needing to create and run different files every time. I just created one myself that's 3274 (and counting) lines and it does everything tha't I want like switching frequencies, automatic backup of important files, creating metadata file for streaming and some other useful features that I want :)
 
Last edited:

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
Well I forgot about batch file menu generation. I have done this in DOSBox for various radios and models. ie, Tait, kenwood, moto etc, etc.

I guess with your idea, one could attribute an icon file to the batch file and place on the desktop, or wherever...

Here is an excerpt of my programming .bat file...


@ECHO OFF


:BEGIN
CLS
ECHO.
ECHO.
ECHO Radio Programming Software *MAIN MENU*
ECHO.
ECHO.
ECHO 1. Tait
ECHO 2. Motorola
ECHO 3. Kenwood
REM ECHO 4. Maxon
ECHO 4. Philips
ECHO 5. Simoco
ECHO.
ECHO 6. DSE EPROM Burner
ECHO 7. GPS LabMon
ECHO.
ECHO 8. Exit to DOS
ECHO 9. Exit to Windows
ECHO.
ECHO.

CHOICE /N /C:123456789 Select A Number (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9)%1
IF ERRORLEVEL ==9 GOTO EXIT
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
"Why not putting all CC's in FMP24.scanlist, and run FMP that is dedicated to CC with -s1 option?
I run mine like this 24/7, system is changing CC every 24 hours and all works just fine."


Cheers mate! -s1 is scan mode = on, I guess. Mmm, interesting. I will have to create a "FMP24.scanlist" file. I assume FMP24 auto-scans dir for this file?

Ah, reading FMP.txt now for instructions!


And no doubt when you say FMP, you obviously mean FMP24... Cheers.
 
Last edited:

LimaZulu

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
348
Well I forgot about batch file menu generation. I have done this in DOSBox for various radios and models. ie, Tait, kenwood, moto etc, etc.

I guess with your idea, one could attribute an icon file to the batch file and place on the desktop, or wherever...

Here is an excerpt of my programming .bat file...


@ECHO OFF


:BEGIN
CLS
ECHO.
ECHO.
ECHO Radio Programming Software *MAIN MENU*
ECHO.
ECHO.
ECHO 1. Tait
ECHO 2. Motorola
ECHO 3. Kenwood
REM ECHO 4. Maxon
ECHO 4. Philips
ECHO 5. Simoco
ECHO.
ECHO 6. DSE EPROM Burner
ECHO 7. GPS LabMon
ECHO.
ECHO 8. Exit to DOS
ECHO 9. Exit to Windows
ECHO.
ECHO.

CHOICE /N /C:123456789 Select A Number (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9)%1
IF ERRORLEVEL ==9 GOTO EXIT

Yes and no :)
Menu structure is close to what I did but instead of pointing each option to a different file, you can just point it to a different line where is your DSD and FMP24 start options.
Sorry for the long post but in order to get my idea I'll post part of my batch code here:

:unknown_menu
mode 62,45
if not defined listening set listening=Select a system to decode
cls
echo.
echo __________________________________________________________
echo.
echo UNKNOWN
echo __________________________________________________________
echo.
echo 1 - Capacity+ DCC3 - 462.38600 MHz
echo 2 - Capacity+ DCC3 Site 1 - 152.43751 MHz
echo 3 - Unknown Analog - 162.28000 MHz
echo 4 - DMR DCC1 - 157.63400 MHz
echo 5 - Unknown NXDN - 468.21765 MHz
echo 6 - Capacity+ DCC1 - 482.43875 MHz
echo 7 - Unknown Encrypted - 168.38200 MHz
echo 8 - Unknown TG1 - 169.58400 MHz
echo 9 - Unknown DMR TG11 - 468.92000 MHz
echo 10 - Unknown wihout voice - 468.10000 MHz
echo 11 - Unknown construction - 146.13750 MHz
echo.
echo 12 - Start SDR Sharp
echo.
echo A - Start FMP-Map
echo C - Current listening
echo M - Main menu
echo.
echo E - Edit system files
echo B - Backup
echo.
echo G - Audio server control
echo R - Restart
echo T - Restart to current
echo X - Exit
echo __________________________________________________________
echo.
echo Currently listening to:
echo.
echo %listening%
echo.
echo.

set choice=
set /p choice=Choose an option:
if "%choice%"=="1" set check=cap_dcc3 & goto cap_dcc3
if "%choice%"=="2" set check=cap_dcc3_site1 & goto cap_dcc3_site1
if "%choice%"=="3" set check=unknown_analog & goto unknown_analog
if "%choice%"=="4" set check=dmr_dcc1 & goto dmr_dcc1
if "%choice%"=="5" set check=unknown_nxdn & goto unknown_nxdn
if "%choice%"=="6" set check=cap_dcc1 & goto cap_dcc1
if "%choice%"=="7" set check=unknown_enc & goto unknown_enc
if "%choice%"=="8" set check=unknown_tg1 & goto unknown_tg1
if "%choice%"=="9" set check=unknown_dmr & goto unknown_dmr
if "%choice%"=="10" set check=unknown_vocie & goto unknown_vocie
if "%choice%"=="11" set check=unknown_construction & goto unknown_construction
if "%choice%"=="12" set check=sdr_sharp & goto sdr_sharp
if /I "%choice%"=="a" start FMP-Map
if /I "%choice%"=="c" goto %current%
if /I "%choice%"=="m" goto main_menu
if /I "%choice%"=="e" goto system_files
if /I "%choice%"=="b" goto backup
if /I "%choice%"=="g" goto audio_server
if /I "%choice%"=="r" goto sure_res
if /I "%choice%"=="t" goto current_res
if /I "%choice%"=="x" goto sure_xit
goto unknown_menu

:cap_dcc3
if %check%==%curr_res% goto unknown_menu
tskill sdrsharp >nul
tskill dsdplus >nul
tskill fmp24 >nul
tskill FMP-Map >nul
start FMP24 -i1 -o20001 -f462.38600 -b7.6 -a1 -g7.7 -z0 -P33.0 -_1
start DSDPlus -i20001 -fr -v4 -T -o1 -O NUL -_3
start FMP-Map
set listening=Capacity+, DCC 3, Mode: DMR
title DSD+ %listening%
set current=unknown_menu
set curr_res=cap_dcc3
for %%I in (Listening) do (
setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
type metadata.gdm | find /v "%%I=">metadata.gdm
move /y metadata.tmp metadata.gdm >nul
echo %%I=!%%I!>>metadata.gdm
)
endlocal
goto unknown_menu
:cap_dcc3_site1
if %check%==%curr_res% goto unknown_menu
tskill sdrsharp >nul
tskill dsdplus >nul
tskill fmp24 >nul
tskill FMP-Map >nul
start FMP24 -i1 -o20001 -f152.43751 -b7.6 -a1 -g7.7 -z0 -P33.0 -_1
start DSDPlus -i20001 -fr -v4 -T -o1 -O NUL -_3
start FMP-Map
set listening=Capacity+, DCC 3, Site 1, Mode: DMR
title DSD+ %listening%
set current=unknown_menu
set curr_res=cap_dcc3_site1
for %%I in (Listening) do (
setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
type metadata.gdm | find /v "%%I=">metadata.gdm
move /y metadata.tmp metadata.gdm >nul
echo %%I=!%%I!>>metadata.gdm
)
endlocal
goto unknown_menu
:unknown_analog
if %check%==%curr_res% goto unknown_menu
tskill sdrsharp >nul
tskill dsdplus >nul
tskill fmp24 >nul
tskill FMP-Map >nul
start FMP24 -i1 -o20001 -f162.28000 -b12.5 -a1 -g28.0 -z0 -P33.0 -_1
start DSDPlus -i20001 -m1 -fm -v4 -T -o1M -O NUL -_3
set listening=Unknown, Mode: Analog
title DSD+ %listening%
set current=unknown_menu
set curr_res=unknown_analog
for %%I in (Listening) do (
setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
type metadata.gdm | find /v "%%I=">metadata.gdm
move /y metadata.tmp metadata.gdm >nul
echo %%I=!%%I!>>metadata.gdm
)
endlocal
goto unknown_menu

NB: Frequencies are not real just to keep privacy!

"Why not putting all CC's in FMP24.scanlist, and run FMP that is dedicated to CC with -s1 option?
I run mine like this 24/7, system is changing CC every 24 hours and all works just fine."


Cheers mate! -s1 is first slot, I guess. Mmm, interesting. I will have to create a "FMP24.scanlist" file. I assume FMP24 auto-scans dir for this file?

Ah, reading FMP24.txt now for instructions!


And no doubt when you say FMP, you obviously mean FMP24... Cheers.

Yeah, If there is an -s1 option added to FMP24 start line it will start scanning as soon as you run it. So just put all your control channels inside FMP24.scanlist and run it. FMP24 atuomatically stops when there is an active channel, so once CC is changed FMP24 will continue to scan the list and within less of sa second you will be tuned to the new CC :)
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
Ok so what am I missing?

There is no FMP24.txt file, only a FMP.txt file, so I read and followed instructions contained within.



My launch .bat file: (-f, padded with 'x's for privacy).

START FMP24 -s1 -rc -i2 -o20001 -P0.0 -fxxx.xxxxxx -_3 -b-12.5 -g16.6
START DSDPLUS -rc -fr -i20001 -e



My "FMP24.scanlist" file... (Again, -f, padded with 'x's for privacy).

xxx.xxxxxx Con+ CC
xxx.xxxxxx Con+ CCALT



FMP24 flicks between the 2 frequencies in the "FMP24.scanlist" file every second. I can see a great signal on the current CC and the voice f, but FMP24 DOES NOT STOP / HOLD. The voice channel has no signal at times too.

A scanner or radio with scan enabled relies on a squelch. It appears that FMP24 squelch (for scanning mode) is not enabled ?


WTF am I doing wrong ?!






And I read from "FMP.txt"...

"FMP's scanner mode is designed to be used with DSD+. FMP and DSD+
should be running in the same folder. While DSD+ is decoding
digital voice, FMP will auto-hold on the current RF channel.
If DSD+ is not decoding digital voice, FMP will auto-scan to the
next channel in the scanlist. This behaviour will let you monitor
multiple digital channels, including control or rest channels.
FMP will not get hung up on constant carriers that are not broadcasting
digital voice calls."


I must be missing something simple... Both FMP24 and DSD+ FL (latest version) are running...
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
"processing of the FMP.ScanList file stops if a line containing
the string <EOF> is found; frequency entries that you don't want
to scan can be stored in the file after the <EOF> line"


So, what does this mean in English? "CR" or carriage return? See above for contents of my files...


Cheers.
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
7,643
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Hm, the scanning should stop when DSD+ detects digital voice traffic. Scanning isn't going to stop for a control channel.

"The string <EOF>" is just that - the five characters < E O F >
 

TheButcher

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
271
Well fair enough. But how can I get FMP24 to alternate (scan) between 2 or 3 CC's when they change? I don't run DSD+ etc 24/7. I take it that at say midnight (in my location) DSD+ will automatically follow CC as it alternates between LCN / frequency, but how can one use commands + arguments whatever they are called in a single batch file to accomplish this? Or is this even possible.

So -s1 is ONLY for scanning VOICE CHANNELS ? It would be nice to see implemented an argument for scanning for valid CC...


Cheers guys. Thanks for helping.



ps. I did google "EOF" and am not clear about the implication. An example might suffice for my poor brain! Please I am not asking for anyone to spoon feed me either... This sucks for both parties!

End-of-file - Wikipedia
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
7,643
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Well fair enough. But how can I get FMP24 to alternate (scan) between 2 or 3 CC's when they change? I don't run DSD+ etc 24/7. I take it that at say midnight (in my location) DSD+ will automatically follow CC as it alternates between LCN / frequency, but how can one use commands + arguments whatever they are called in a single batch file to accomplish this? Or is this even possible.

So -s1 is ONLY for scanning VOICE CHANNELS ? It would be nice to see implemented an argument for scanning for valid CC...
I would try changing Con+ to something like FM. Then FMP24 should assume they're analog channels and just use simple squelch logic.


ps. I did google "EOF" and am not clear about the implication. An example might suffice for my poor brain! Please I am not asking for anyone to spoon feed me either... This sucks for both parties!

End-of-file - Wikipedia

451.7 NXDN48 Bob's Diner
154.2 FM Beck Taxi

<EOF>

; any entries down here are ignored
...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top