RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Skip / Tropospheric Ducting Forum


Skip / Tropospheric Ducting Forum - Discussion of Skip and Tropospheric Ducting Monitoring

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2016, 6:41 PM
k9rzz's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,180
Default New state on FM!

We had a nice E's opening today from the Midwest into Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona. I didn't log as many stations as others did, but I got a new state - New Mexico! This with an indoor dipole on the second floor. KLYT 88.3 is only 4kw and 1102 miles from me.

Audio clips:
https://soundcloud.com/k9rzz/klyt-883-albuquerque
https://soundcloud.com/k9rzz/kpac-883-sanantonio
Attached Images
 
__________________
Blog: The Daily DX Updated Feb. 22, 2015 - 600 foot longwire. Longwave, Paupa New Guninea, and South Korea.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2016, 6:45 PM
kb5zcs's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brownsville Texas,On The Border By The Sea.
Posts: 1,072
Default

Nice catch John.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2016, 9:58 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Woodlands, MB
Posts: 702
Default

Good catch..

I got a fair bit of tropo this summer (300-400 miles), but I've never managed any E skip on the FM broadcast band.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2016, 8:01 PM
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 630
Default

Not bad being only a 4kw station.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2018, 1:28 AM
Radiosunshine's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Default

Great job, am wondering what your set is and what kind of antenna are you using?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:37 AM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 6,424
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiosunshine View Post
Great job, am wondering what your set is and what kind of antenna are you using?
You might not get an answer. The OP hasn't been on for over a year.
In fact not since December, 2016.
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2018, 11:50 PM
dave3825's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1,980
Default

Said he was using an indoor dipole. Would have liked to know which one.
__________________
DMR436HP Br330T Pro 93 Pro 95
Arc330Pro ProScan Freescan BCDX36HP Easy Manual Id Tracker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions