RTL over TCP for Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fizz306

Premium Subscriber
Hope you all could help me out here a bit...

I'm not so familiar with Linux, and while the raspi seems like a neat solution, I'm not quite up to tackling learning Linux from a command line perspective to do this.

I have a Win 7 laptop running two instances of ProScan that I'll be installing on a mountaintop in the near future. I just started playing around with the RTL stick using SDR# on another computer I have, and its uses are endless, and its so much fun.

Now I'm thinking there must be a way to set this up where I can attach an RTL stick to this Win 7 laptop and have it pass over IP, but I can't seem to find much in the way of doing this in Windows. Any ideas or links?

Also, is ethernet a necessity or will the laptop be able to pass this over an 802.11g wireless connection?

Thanks so much for your help!

Pape

Premium Subscriber
Sorry forgot to mention x64 is for 64 bits windows x32 is for 32 bits Windows

Pape

Premium Subscriber
You will need to install the rtl driver for Windows from the zadig apps.
You can find the zadig in the folder of SDR#

Fizz306

Premium Subscriber
Pape (or anyone else that may know)...

I have this running on my host machine now (rtl_tcp) and I'm having issues accessing it from within my home network.

Do you have any idea how to change the default IP address that rtl_tcp will listen to from 127.0.0.1 to the static local address I have assigned to the hosting computer?

Thanks again!

Fizz306

Premium Subscriber
Awesome, thanks. Figured out you can add parameters in Windows 7 easily by creating a short cut to the .exe and modifying the target.

Thanks again.

millam

Old Radio Guy
Premium Subscriber
couple of questions

Maybe a few more than 2!
1st, What are the commands needed to start, sdr tcp on the sdr device computer?
rtl_sdr -a XXX.XXX.X.XXX What is the IP for, the sending computer, receiving computer?