RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > South Carolina Radio Discussion Forum

South Carolina Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of South Carolina.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2012, 1:50 PM
bonk83's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Union,SC
Posts: 169
Default has palmetto 800 rebanded any towers

i was trying to put in some tsys in my scanner & it had 800 standard,800 splinter,800 rebanded
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-94,Pro-197,Pro-2018,Pro-2044 / Win500
Uniden BC355N / Regency ACT-R-106 / Antenna Craft ST-2
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2012, 2:56 PM
DB Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,209
Default

They have not rebanded any sites yet, that I am aware of. But it's not too far away.

Use 800 Standard if you have to assign a custom table, but in general you don't use a custom table at all. The default works just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2012, 10:31 PM
Caesar's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cayce, SC
Posts: 1,700
Default

they just finished smart x migration but I don't think we should see any changes on our side...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2012, 6:32 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thomson, Georgia
Posts: 421
Default

Augusta, N. Augusta, Blythe, and McBean sites in Georgia were rebanded a few weeks ago and we went through the SmartX migration at approximately 8:00PM on June 12th.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2012, 3:37 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 337
Default

The Richland County simulcast cell has been rebanded. New frequencies will be posted to database.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2012, 6:57 PM
DB Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evan View Post
The Richland County simulcast cell has been rebanded. New frequencies will be posted to database.
It's nice to see that all of the new frequencies end in a 5, and not in a 0. That means older trunktracking scanners and radios that don't support rebanded sites will track site 30 just fine. Bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2012, 8:17 PM
bonk83's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Union,SC
Posts: 169
Default

does all the sites have to be rebanded by jan. 2013 by the fcc like narrowband conv. does
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-94,Pro-197,Pro-2018,Pro-2044 / Win500
Uniden BC355N / Regency ACT-R-106 / Antenna Craft ST-2
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2012, 8:33 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Camden SC
Posts: 28
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9800; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

Brian I thought with rebanding only the first numbers in front of the dot decrease by 15. Do the others change too ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2012, 1:49 PM
DB Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonk83 View Post
does all the sites have to be rebanded by jan. 2013 by the fcc like narrowband conv. does
There is no such overall deadline for rebanding, but the State of SC has set a deadline of December 31, 2012 as their deadline to complete rebanding of infrastructure (tower site equipment). When the rebanding process started many years ago, they expected to take 2-3 years, and that seems like it was more than 6 years ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscannerjunkie View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9800; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

Brian I thought with rebanding only the first numbers in front of the dot decrease by 15. Do the others change too ?
So, it depends. You're correct that frequencies 866-869MHz will drop 15MHz, but that's not what causes the older trunktracking radios issues. The problem is when the frequencies 866-869MHz that end in "0" rather than "5" and drop to 851-854MHz. So, for example, a site using 868.4125MHz will not cause issues with older trunktrackers, but a site using 868.1500MHz will be a problem when it drops to 853.1500MHz.

Site 30 has no frequencies that have a "0" in the fourth place after the decimal, so it can still be tracked by older trunktrackers without issue. The same is true with sites 5, 6, 7 and 25 in the Augusta area that have been rebanded (I noted that in the db this morning).

But when a site like Site 19 Spartanbug rebands, I'll have some trouble with my older radios as 4 of the 10 frequencies have a "0" in the 4th place after the decimal. I'd miss 40% or more of the radio traffic with a radio that doesn't support rebanding.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2012, 4:19 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 337
Default

Kind of unrelated, but while we are talking about Palmetto 800, I've also recently noticed that dispatch consoles are now sharing one radio ID-65520.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-27-2012, 9:44 PM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evan View Post
Kind of unrelated, but while we are talking about Palmetto 800, I've also recently noticed that dispatch consoles are now sharing one radio ID-65520.


--- SMARTEX -- I would think but i hadnt noticed but will watch my radio.. Also wired consoles are sounding almost "Digital" even on analog talk groups.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2012, 8:16 AM
DB Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,209
Default

Sites 2 and 36 in Kershaw County have been rebanded this week. Add to that site 30 Richland and the sites in Richmond County, GA, as well as Aiken site.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 12:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1
Smile Randy

I live in Kershaw County SC and have a Radio Shack Pro 163 scanner. I have the talk group ID's and frequencies programed and I'm receiving the county EMS and Fire transmissions along with Camden Fire, but not any of the Sheriff Dept. and Camden PD transmissions. Could this be caused by the rebanding of the two tower sites in Kershaw County???? If rebanding is the problem, basically what will I need to do to my scanner to be able to receive these channels??? I've read that I will need a firmware and software updates, but most of the language seems very technical to me. This 'simple minded" person needs a little help and direction with this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 9:00 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Camden SC
Posts: 28
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.0.4; en-us; SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 Build/IMM76D) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

If you are receiving those then its not rebanding that is the problem. The pro 163 is analog only. Those talkgroups are digital. Unfortunately you would need a scanner that is digital trunking capable such as the radioshack pro 197.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2012, 9:34 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Provincetown, MA
Posts: 2
Default

As of this past weekend, all Palmetto sites along I-95 that needed rebanding were complete.
Darlington, Effingham, Lee, Manning, Holly Hills, Waterboro, Yemasse and Jasper
__________________
Timothy W. Caldwell
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2012, 11:10 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: darlington sc
Posts: 213
Default

darlington hasnt been rebanded as of yet but it should be done though today
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 5:25 PM
bonk83's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Union,SC
Posts: 169
Default

i contacted motorola about the palmetto 800 site in union & i was told it was rebanded sept.21st
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-94,Pro-197,Pro-2018,Pro-2044 / Win500
Uniden BC355N / Regency ACT-R-106 / Antenna Craft ST-2
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2012, 12:16 PM
bonk83's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Union,SC
Posts: 169
Default

palmetto 800 site in union rebanded frequencies 853.4500 853.0750 852.8000 852.2875 851.7500 851.2250
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-94,Pro-197,Pro-2018,Pro-2044 / Win500
Uniden BC355N / Regency ACT-R-106 / Antenna Craft ST-2
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 9:16 AM
scanfan447's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 46
Default

Good morning all ! I have a pro-197 and not sure how to do rebanding for Horry co area for pal-800? Do i need firmware ? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by scanfan447; 11-24-2012 at 9:41 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 3:54 PM
DB Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanfan447 View Post
Good morning all ! I have a pro-197 and not sure how to do rebanding for Horry co area for pal-800? Do i need firmware ? Thanks in advance!
Do you use programming software, or are you programming by hand?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions