Help for a Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

LawDawg55

Basically I'm relatively new to scanning and pretty much clueless. I bought a Pro-2055 Trunk Tracker scanner yesterday from Radio Shack. The conventional frequencies I don't really have a problem with, but as far as the Trunked talk groups, that's where my not having a clue comes in to play. I programmed in 867.125, and when I have it on MAN and put it in MOT mode most of the Talk groups I'm interested in come up and are Identified, but as far as listening to one particular talk group and blocking out others, how do I do that? And can I program in a talk group w/out the tower frequency? I still haven't been able to find the talk group for Cherokee County yet, but know the ID is 21520. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also for some reason when I have it on Scan, for some reason it won't pick up transmissions over 867.125, but then I'll hit MAN and it will be in the middle of a transmission, not really sure why that's happening either.

brian

DB Administrator
Database Admin
Since you're looking for the ID for Cherokee County, I'll assume you're trying to listen to the Thicketty Tower.

Program 868.425 in your scanner and set the type to MOT. That's the control channel, and that's the one you need.

If your scanner is in Open mode (a + sign under the bank number while it's scanning) then you'll hear ALL active talkgroups that aren't locked out on your scanner. Press Function-5 to close the bank, and you'll only hear talkgroups that you've programmed into your scan list (that aren't locked out).

To ensure that you always hear SCHP troopers in Cherokee, program 29072 and 21392 in addition to 21520. They frequently patch talkgroups together to allow one dispatcher to work multiple channels at the same time. You never can tell which one will be active.

Brian

LawDawg55