Listening to live feed question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

K1VQP

I am using Windows Media Player to listen to a live scanner feed and have noticed that after 2-3 hours the player will stop and I have to press the play button again. Is this normal or should I be using another program. I'm kinda new to the live feed listening.

rbm

Winamp (free version) is also a good one to try.

Select 'Allow Multiple Instances' in the preferences and you can listen to many feeds at one time.

It will also display the text labels in the playlist window.

Toggle 'Repeat' to 'ON' and it will automatically reconnect if the feed drops and comes back online.

Rich

Edit:
Here's a screen capture of the desktop on one of my PC's.
Five feeds displaying text tags and logging using ScanRec Pro.

Last edited:

talkpair

I'm using Winamp and was wondering if I can add additional feeds to the playlist?

Yes, you can create a playlist file with your favorites......then launch winamp by clicking on the playlist directly, then toggling though the playlist until you find the stream you're interested in.
This works well if you're interested in only one stream.

I use a setup similar to the screenshot that rbm has posted where I have 5 streams playing at the same time.

For my setup, I created a separate icon for each stream of interest, and put them in a folder.

To do this,
1) Right click on the Winamp icon and choose "Create Shortcut" from the menu.
2) Right click on the newly created icon, and choose "Rename" from the menu.
3) Rename the shortcut to something more meaningful.
4) Right click on the same icon again, and choose "Properties" from the menu.
The "Shortcut" tab should come up by default on the Properties tab box.
The entry in the "Target" text box will read something similar to "C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe"
Leave this entry alone
To the right of the text already in the text box, type in
a space
/NEW
another space
the URL of the stream