Recording Dispatch Audio

Status
Not open for further replies.

Braeden

Premium Subscriber
Hello All,
Not quite sure where I should ask this question, but this seems like the most pertinent spot.

I am a Security Manager at an Amusement park in MN, with one of my primary roles being overseeing dispatch. Before my time there, we used to record our radio traffic by using a radio that plugged into the computer and saved the recordings in our files.

Does anyone have any idea what the best way of recording this again would be? It is something that we would really like to start up again. I'm obviously kind of stupid when it comes to this, so thanks in advance for the help.

If it matters, we are on a UHF system with mainly motorola equipment.

Braeden Johnson

cmdrwill

Most Motorola mobile or station radios have a fixed level line audio output, that is NOT affected by the volume control. If I knew a little more about your system, radio model numbers,I could help you set up the audio side of this.

There are many audio logging programs for PCs.

AggieCon

Premium Subscriber
Rather than occupying a radio, unless you have plenty to spare, I suggest getting a $12 SDR dongle and recording using something like SDR#. What's you exact goal? Is this something that can be in the office for anyone to utilize, or are you wanting it off site or only accessible to a few? Are you going to immediately review the recordings, or it is a long term archive in case something comes up? Depending on your requirements, it can be done cheap and easy, but if you need something more robust (and have a nice sized budget), you might need to look into a "professional" solution.

Braeden

Premium Subscriber
The radio we would most likely be a Kenwood. We do have about 6 Kenwood mobiles (base stations) we are not using for anything, so we we have some to spare. It would be connected to a computer in dispatch most likely and that radio would be dedicated to that purpose.