Let's Look at WIKI

Status
Not open for further replies.

DickH

In a recent thread about re-banding the PRO-97, someone jumped all over me because I stated my opinion that WIKI was not a very reliable source of information. At that time, someone commented that WIKI said the PRO-97 WAS re-bandable. An e-mail from Radio Shack voiced uncertainty, so someone posted that WIKI now says the PRO-97 can NOT be re-banded.

This all reinforces my opinion that WIKI is not completely reliable.
Furthermore, as an author, I do not believe it is ethical to change what others have written. WIKI should be set up so that only the original author can change something. People that feel corrections or changes are needed should contact the author and let him make whatever changes he feels necessary. The original author should be responsible for the information, right or wrong.

weirdal

DickH said:
In a recent thread about re-banding the PRO-97, someone jumped all over me because I stated my opinion that WIKI was not a very reliable source of information. At that time, someone commented that WIKI said the PRO-97 WAS re-bandable. An e-mail from Radio Shack voiced uncertainty, so someone posted that WIKI now says the PRO-97 can NOT be re-banded.

This all reinforces my opinion that WIKI is not completely reliable.
Furthermore, as an author, I do not believe it is ethical to change what others have written. WIKI should be set up so that only the original author can change something. People that feel corrections or changes are needed should contact the author and let him make whatever changes he feels necessary. The original author should be responsible for the information, right or wrong.
While I agree with you that any wiki isn't a good source of information, to only allow authors to edit would defeat the purpose.

Dubbin

Feed Provider
weirdal said:
While I agree with you that any wiki isn't a good source of information, to only allow authors to edit would defeat the purpose.