RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum

Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Tennessee.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #401 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2013, 8:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 83
Default

Its in test mode
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #402 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2013, 9:27 PM
n4yek's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newport, Tennessee
Posts: 2,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milf View Post
Is it showing Site Trunking or Wide Area Trunking using software like Pro96Com, or Unitrunker etc?
The scanner I use with Unitrunker is a Pro 95, doesn't do 700 MHz so I won't be able to tell you any of that.
I know it's still in test mode, it's not transmitting any site ID just yet.
__________________
Danny Harp Jr.
HAM Radio Operator: N4YEK
A blood donor saved my life (Matthew 26:28).....Remember, Jesus loves you.
If 'con' is opposite of 'pro', is Congress the opposite of progress?
Reply With Quote
  #403 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2013, 7:47 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: clarksville,tn
Posts: 346
Default The state of Tennessee Advanced Communications Network (TACN)

I'll see when mine comes up we're going to be on the 800 MHz my scanner doesn't do 700 MHz ether


Sent from my iPhone5 using Tapatalk
__________________
own a pro 404, and a bct 8 with a discriminator tap.
Reply With Quote
  #404 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2013, 9:44 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,069
Default

Thats what makes me curious as to how we have Clarksville Simulcast listed as a valid site with numbering when IT IS NOT broadcasting yet??? (And folks say I jump the gun?) Anyway, back to the usual madness.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #405 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 9:49 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 83
Default

At one time it was broadcasting
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #406 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 2:33 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dresden, TN
Posts: 44
Default

Clarksville was broadcasting, a while back, because it was in "staging" at Motorola in Schamburg. It was connected to the Nashville Master Site through T1 circuit. It was taken down after staging.
Reply With Quote
  #407 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 7:12 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: clarksville,tn
Posts: 346
Default

This may sound dumb , but what exactly is staging?
__________________
own a pro 404, and a bct 8 with a discriminator tap.
Reply With Quote
  #408 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 7:27 PM
tspainiv's Avatar
Shelby Co DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 672
Default The state of Tennessee Advanced Communications Network (TACN)

Staging is when Motorola sets up and configures the customer's radio system (cables, site equip, and subscribers) and basically takes it for a test spin. The customer is invited there to see their system in action and to work out any configuration problems or errors that might be encountered.

It makes for a cleaner and quicker install at the customer's site.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Thomas - KI4OTD
Memphis & Shelby Co. Public Safety Scanner
Reply With Quote
  #409 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 10:13 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,069
Default

Especially when you already have the site infrastructure in place, and are just doing a swap over once install is done. No need for building a site, and going through all that hassle. You just add the P25 repeater in the racks, and hook it to power/ants/IP network etc. Add new mobiles in the cars etc, get the HT's all set up to hand out. Install the new console parts, and get training done. Then, turn it all on, make sure it integrates, and tell everyone, "Hey switch to your TACN radios." Then once your sure everything is good, you turn off the EDACS stuff.. and it goes away to wherever EDACS heavan is lol.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #410 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2013, 10:16 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,069
Default

Especially when you already have the site infrastructure in place, and are just doing a swap over once install is done. No need for building a site, and going through all that hassle. You just add the P25 repeater in the racks, and hook it to power/ants/IP network etc. Add new mobiles in the cars etc, get the HT's all set up to hand out. Install the new console parts, and get training done. Then, turn it all on, make sure it integrates, and tell everyone, "Hey switch to your TACN radios." Then once your sure everything is good, you turn off the EDACS stuff.. and it goes away to wherever EDACS heavan is lol. Oh yeah, forgot to mention adding the microwave linkage for the TACN...
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #411 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 12:04 AM
jfhtm350's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Market TN
Posts: 849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n4yek View Post
The scanner I use with Unitrunker is a Pro 95, doesn't do 700 MHz so I won't be able to tell you any of that.
I know it's still in test mode, it's not transmitting any site ID just yet.
I can barely hear the cc noise through the static. I figured I would pick it up better than that. It must be on the other side of English Mtn. I will try to take my scanner outside tomorrow and see if I get anything.
__________________
Pro-106 / Pro-197 / Uniden BC92XLT / Uniden BC355N
Reply With Quote
  #412 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 8:55 AM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,069
Default

Once all 3 repeaters are up to full power and in at least site trunking, you may be able to pick the simulcast up better.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #413 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 12:21 PM
n4yek's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newport, Tennessee
Posts: 2,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfhtm350 View Post
I can barely hear the cc noise through the static. I figured I would pick it up better than that. It must be on the other side of English Mtn. I will try to take my scanner outside tomorrow and see if I get anything.
I don't think they are at full power, I barely receive it either.
__________________
Danny Harp Jr.
HAM Radio Operator: N4YEK
A blood donor saved my life (Matthew 26:28).....Remember, Jesus loves you.
If 'con' is opposite of 'pro', is Congress the opposite of progress?
Reply With Quote
  #414 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 12:38 PM
jfhtm350's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Market TN
Posts: 849
Default

Still barely hear it outside so I guess I'll keep a check on it.
__________________
Pro-106 / Pro-197 / Uniden BC92XLT / Uniden BC355N
Reply With Quote
  #415 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 5:23 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfhtm350 View Post
Still barely hear it outside so I guess I'll keep a check on it.
I heard it fairly solid in Jefferson Co but Cocke co was smaller signal....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #416 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2013, 5:49 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Seymour, Tn
Posts: 114
Default Tn TACN changes only

Is there a way to upload changes only?
I have deleted some groups since they don't pertain to my area.

Thanks
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #417 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 3:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Does anyone know the frequency numbers to pick up state patrol in dyersburg, Tennessee area?
Reply With Quote
  #418 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 8:05 PM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueberryhill View Post
Does anyone know the frequency numbers to pick up state patrol in dyersburg, Tennessee area?
The old VHF Low-Band and High-Band frequencies are here:
Highway Patrol (THP) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

You're looking for District 4 in Memphis, and you may also be able to hear District 8 in Jackson.

However, THP is migrating to the statewide TCAN trunked system - which is P25 digital.
You'll need a P25 scanner capable of Phase II operation.
Information on this system is here:
Tennessee Advanced Communications Network (TACN) Trunking System, Varies, Multi-State - Scanner Frequencies
Reply With Quote
  #419 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2013, 8:24 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Thank you very much for information
Reply With Quote
  #420 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2013, 9:15 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dresden, TN
Posts: 44
Default

The THP dispatch frequency for Dyersburg is 42.5600. It is a simplex channel and cars / base use the same frequency. There is also a mobile relay in Dyersburg that the cars use on 45.5800. If you're close enough to the cars you can hear the mobile's traffic on the 154.905 mobile extender in each car. There is also a high band repeater in Dyersburg on 155.4300 that is used somewhat.

The closest TACN site to Dyersburg is the Ripley site but it's not being used very much by Dyer County Troopers because it too far for portable traffic. More sites are slated to be constructed for the TACN system, in the Memphis District, later next year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions