RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum

Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Tennessee.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 1:24 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,073
Default

Looks like they are getting the TVRTRS tie-ins with the 700 MHz sites then go west with VHF? Anyone heard on finalization of planning with the Memphis region? Last I heard they were going to do an TVTRS type thing for that area also.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 6:13 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt View Post
FCC license modification request for temporary command post communications.

73's

Ron
As shown on the application, what does FB2T and FBT mean? What is the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2012, 7:33 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,073
Default

T means temporary, usually a trailer towed system. Site On Wheels etc...
FB2T = Repeater, Temporary. FBT = Base Station, Temporary.

Every massive regional, or statewide system has mobile sites (SOW's).
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2012, 7:00 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by milf View Post
T means temporary, usually a trailer towed system. Site On Wheels etc...
FB2T = Repeater, Temporary. FBT = Base Station, Temporary.

Every massive regional, or statewide system has mobile sites (SOW's).
Thanks for explaining, because I had thought that the "T" designation might have been for TDMA.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2012, 6:38 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,073
Default

No problem. The TDMA designation would be found in the EMISSIONS designator...
For example: 7K60FXD, 7K60FXE would designate MotoTRBO TDMA Digital.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2012, 1:17 AM
jfhtm350's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Market TN
Posts: 851
Default

Emission Designator - The RadioReference Wiki
__________________
Pro-106 / Pro-197 / Uniden BC92XLT / Uniden BC355N
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2012, 4:27 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by milf View Post
No problem. The TDMA designation would be found in the EMISSIONS designator...
For example: 7K60FXD, 7K60FXE would designate MotoTRBO TDMA Digital.
A couple of days ago, the trunking symbol, "T", began appearing on both my PSR-500 and PSR-800 when scanning the "Troopnet" scanlists that I had programmed into both scanners. I assume this means they are receiving some kind of trunking signal, but no voice or any noise has been received on either scanner. Any ideas what this may mean?
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2012, 5:21 PM
n4yek's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newport, Tennessee
Posts: 2,071
Default

"T" appears when the scanner is receiving a trunking control channel data according to this: Easier to Read Pro-106/197/PSR500/600 Digital Scanner Manual
__________________
Danny Harp Jr.
HAM Radio Operator: N4YEK
A blood donor saved my life (Matthew 26:28).....Remember, Jesus loves you.
If 'con' is opposite of 'pro', is Congress the opposite of progress?
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2012, 7:00 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by n4yek View Post
"T" appears when the scanner is receiving a trunking control channel data according to this: Easier to Read Pro-106/197/PSR500/600 Digital Scanner Manual
That's what I thought, however, as I said no voice or any sounds. I wonder if anyone else has received any data or voice transmissions on this system?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:26 PM
jfhtm350's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Market TN
Posts: 851
Default

Yes that means you are recieving a voice channel from a trunking system.

In my experience sometimes the control channel noise and the 'T" symbol and the actual control channel information will carry further than the actual voice will.

I can set my scanner on the Knox Co Pub Safety Trunking System and hook it to my laptop and decode the control channel all day long (such as getting the talkgroup id's and such), but actually being able to hear anyone well its just hit or miss. More miss than hit. It actually gets better in the fall and winter because the leaves are falling off the trees. Sometimes I can scan that system and Ill get the "T" and no voice because of the terrain blocking the signal. So that may be what is happening to you.
__________________
Pro-106 / Pro-197 / Uniden BC92XLT / Uniden BC355N
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 4:01 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfhtm350 View Post
Yes that means you are recieving a voice channel from a trunking system.

In my experience sometimes the control channel noise and the 'T" symbol and the actual control channel information will carry further than the actual voice will.

I can set my scanner on the Knox Co Pub Safety Trunking System and hook it to my laptop and decode the control channel all day long (such as getting the talkgroup id's and such), but actually being able to hear anyone well its just hit or miss. More miss than hit. It actually gets better in the fall and winter because the leaves are falling off the trees. Sometimes I can scan that system and Ill get the "T" and no voice because of the terrain blocking the signal. So that may be what is happening to you.
Yes, I think that is what is happening on both my scanners. I will continue monitoring and see what happens. I am hopeful that since the PSR-500 is also receiving the "T" symbol that means it too will be capable of monitoring this new system, even though, as I understand it, the 500 will not decode TDMA Phase II modulation.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 179
Default

Jimg/All,
If you don't have tdma ( I don't) It might be helpful to mention what area you're in as well as what frequencies you catch because some of the 700mHz Troopnet licensed freqs are duplicated in other areas of the state on TVRCS. For example Sequatchie/Davidson 769.35625 and 769.30625 are Anderson county TVRCS sites so someone near Knoxville who sees a hit on that freq is picking up TVRCS whereas someone in middle TN would likely be getting Troopnet freq. Just my .02!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 3:02 PM
n4yek's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newport, Tennessee
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkm1215 View Post
Jimg/All,....... Just my .02!
I always thought it was handy to know where people where located too...btw, where are you???
You don't tell people your location. I proudly live in Newport and display it for all to know.
__________________
Danny Harp Jr.
HAM Radio Operator: N4YEK
A blood donor saved my life (Matthew 26:28).....Remember, Jesus loves you.
If 'con' is opposite of 'pro', is Congress the opposite of progress?

Last edited by n4yek; 12-10-2012 at 3:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2012, 5:34 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 179
Default

I do need to update that. Knoxville.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2012, 5:51 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkm1215 View Post
Jimg/All,
If you don't have tdma ( I don't) It might be helpful to mention what area you're in as well as what frequencies you catch because some of the 700mHz Troopnet licensed freqs are duplicated in other areas of the state on TVRCS. For example Sequatchie/Davidson 769.35625 and 769.30625 are Anderson county TVRCS sites so someone near Knoxville who sees a hit on that freq is picking up TVRCS whereas someone in middle TN would likely be getting Troopnet freq. Just my .02!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
I didn't realize that some of the frequencies for Troopnet were duplicated in TVRCS. Yes, I do have a PSR-800 and I had it updated for TDMA Phase II before it was shipped to me from Scanner Master. As I mentioned, I am receiving the "T" symbol on both the 500 and the 800. I am located in Franklin County, TN., so if it is the new Troopnet freqs. it could be the site in Altamont, in Grundy Co., which, of course, is just a guess. Also, I have found that as I travel west, toward Murfreesboro/Nashville, the "T" disappears.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2012, 2:36 AM
Thunderbolt's Avatar
Forums Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 6,611
Default

Yesterday, I got a report of a control channel on 771.63125 MHz. from just outside of Morrison in Warren County. This maybe the site located in Grundy County that has gone online. Can anyone confirm the site number, System ID, and WACN?

73's

Ron
__________________
"A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain." Robert Frost.
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2012, 6:25 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt View Post
Yesterday, I got a report of a control channel on 771.63125 MHz. from just outside of Morrison in Warren County. This maybe the site located in Grundy County that has gone online. Can anyone confirm the site number, System ID, and WACN?

73's

Ron
I have that frequency programed into my PSR-800 under the Grundy Co. site. I will continue to monitor for any activity. As I stated in an earlier post, over the last week or so I have been seeing the "T" symbol on both my PSR-500 and 800, but no voice or noise.
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2012, 6:13 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Default

The other morning, after a rain, and the temperature was cool, my PSR-800 was trying to pickup a signal from the "Troopnet" scanlist. The best I could see the frequency displayed was 795.3187, but I'm not sure as it appeared very briefly and was then gone, and that is not one of the frequencies I have programmed into the scanner. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2012, 9:00 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 687
Default

That is not a legitimate frequency. GRE radios are known to pick up " image frequencies," that because of poor filtering will "repeat" a legitimate frequency many megahertz lower in the 700 band. Actual 700mhz band frequencies for public safety use will be between 769 and 775 MHz.
BG..
__________________
ButchGone
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2012, 4:55 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: So. Middle TN
Posts: 625
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ButchGone View Post
That is not a legitimate frequency. GRE radios are known to pick up " image frequencies," that because of poor filtering will "repeat" a legitimate frequency many megahertz lower in the 700 band. Actual 700mhz band frequencies for public safety use will be between 769 and 775 MHz.
BG..
Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions