RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum


Tennessee Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Tennessee.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 5:17 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Loudon,TN
Posts: 58
Default Lenoir City Fire Department TACN No Signal Issues

This morning around 6 A.M. LCFD was dispatched to a public assist. Dispatch was trying to give status checks to units on acene, and the console radio kept humming and said no signal out of range for about 2 minutes. Sounds like they need a radio upgrade or another repeater tower in the county.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 5:37 AM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 12,032
Default

Sounds more like the Techs need to have a look at that console. A console can not be out of range its not mobile. And it is not a issue with a Site, as the mobiles and HTs were not bonking out of range right?
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
PRO-92, PRO-92B, PRO-96, BCD396XT, BCD436HP+DMR & NXDN
APX6000XE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 7:40 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Loudon,TN
Posts: 58
Default

Milf, it was bonking out of range. They was also bad reception issues with voice Cutting in and out. But they have all had issues ever since the switch, all lcso,lcpd,and lcfd have to switch over to analog uhf sometimes when they are inside thick wall buildings to make contact with dispatch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 4:02 PM
zachgallop's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Knoxville and Lenoir City
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by windows1268 View Post
Milf, it was bonking out of range. They was also bad reception issues with voice Cutting in and out. But they have all had issues ever since the switch, all lcso,lcpd,and lcfd have to switch over to analog uhf sometimes when they are inside thick wall buildings to make contact with dispatch.
Because of this issue. Officers and Firefighters are forced to carry two radios with them. I think only Fire carries extra portables with them. Not sure Law Enforcement does. I am pretty sure they have mobiles for it though. Do you know? The county is not very well covered for in building. I guess only one site is theirs in a way. The Lenoir city one. Hopefully the new loudon site will help.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 5:00 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 12,032
Default

Again a console does NOT MOVE. It can NOT go out of range. There is an issue with how the installation is set up. Now the mobiles and HTs are another issue entirely! If there are issues with those, and they are known issues,... Who did Quality and Range Testing for them? The problem is with the local techs and radio guys. Who did the System Acceptance? Problem is political. Once you have the answer to who did the Quality and Range Testing locally, and the answer to who did the System Acceptance locally then you are a lot closer to the real core of the problem.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
PRO-92, PRO-92B, PRO-96, BCD396XT, BCD436HP+DMR & NXDN
APX6000XE

Last edited by milf; 06-13-2018 at 5:08 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 5:32 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milf View Post
Again a console does NOT MOVE. It can NOT go out of range. There is an issue with how the installation is set up. Now the mobiles and HTs are another issue entirely! If there are issues with those, and they are known issues,... Who did Quality and Range Testing for them? The problem is with the local techs and radio guys. Who did the System Acceptance? Problem is political. Once you have the answer to who did the Quality and Range Testing locally, and the answer to who did the System Acceptance locally then you are a lot closer to the real core of the problem.

If the console is not a direct connection back to the zone core (think MCC7500) then the only other option would be to talk into the system with RF control stations aka mobile radios which can very much so go out of range for a number of reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 6:20 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Loudon,TN
Posts: 58
Default

All Loudon County TACN Agencies uses older Motorola xts and xtl 2500 radios. Maybe the radio firmware is going out of date causing these issues. Me personally anyways if the radio models are the issue or not they need to upgrade to APX.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2018, 9:56 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 12,032
Default

On the APX I agree with you... Big time. Whichever way Loudon is doing it, it seriously looks like someone cheap skated on a few things. All this should have been red flagged during an proper Quality and Range Testing. And then System Acceptance should NEVER have happened until the issues were addressed and fixed! Again I see this is on the local end. Seems to be a too often typical story now. They might all magically get fixed with a new site, but that will double down on the whole they were NOT ready yet.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
PRO-92, PRO-92B, PRO-96, BCD396XT, BCD436HP+DMR & NXDN
APX6000XE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 12:23 AM
ScannerMan1989's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Under A Rock ;)
Posts: 48
Exclamation No Q.Q.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milf View Post
Again a console does NOT MOVE. It can NOT go out of range. There is an issue with how the installation is set up. Now the mobiles and HTs are another issue entirely! If there are issues with those, and they are known issues,... Who did Quality and Range Testing for them? The problem is with the local techs and radio guys. Who did the System Acceptance? Problem is political. Once you have the answer to who did the Quality and Range Testing locally, and the answer to who did the System Acceptance locally then you are a lot closer to the real core of the problem.
None probably. Betcha that they skipped out due to budgetary reasons... Quantity over quality at that Chinese plant probably same one the BaoFengs are made in!
__________________
Your automotive battery is guilty of murder. It killed your car so it will do some time and I am going to lock it up, it will be charged with electricity!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2018, 8:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Knox / Roane / Loudon counties, Tennessee
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trumpetman View Post
If the console is not a direct connection back to the zone core (think MCC7500) then the only other option would be to talk into the system with RF control stations aka mobile radios which can very much so go out of range for a number of reasons.
Correct.

'Out of range' does not mean out of range. It's a flag set in the firmware to display an icon and in some cases a message if the radio display can provide it.

What it means is that there is an issue causing an unacceptable amount of faulty frames to be received at that subscriber unit. That, as already discussed, can occur for a number of reasons, from squirrels or birds or weather or physical damage or an over the air code plug push or... there's a lot to sift through.

If only one console is bonking and all console positions can dispatch all talkgroups, there's a console issue. If they are all peeved, it is an RF layer application issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions