RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Texas Radio Discussion Forum

Texas Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Texas.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 6:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Angry How do I program dec and hex into my pro 96???

I have a radio shack pro 96, and want to listen to austin fire department channel fcom west. It doesn't give me a frequency just a dec and a hex! What is dec and hex and how do I program that in to my pro 96? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 7:25 PM
K4IHS's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 668
Default

If you program using something like WIN500 software... it's just a click of the mouse. See the attached picture...

Last edited by K4IHS; 01-28-2011 at 8:40 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 7:36 PM
K4IHS's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 668
Default

Or... send us what hex number you have and we'll convert it to a talkgroup for you. And... this is probably a trunked radio system.. :-)

Last edited by K4IHS; 12-01-2010 at 8:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:03 PM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,889
Default

He's got a PRO-96 - Win500 doesn't handle that radio, but Win96 does :.>>.

I find a 'FCOM West' referenced on the following database entry...(all links are blue)

Greater Austin/Travis Regional Radio System (GATRRS) Trunking System, Austin, Texas - Scanner Frequencies

Ignore all the hex stuff. tg1142 is defined as 'AFD FCOM W' in the Austin Fire Department talkgroups section.

As there are several sites to this system, I will defer to the Austin folks for specifics. I will bet, however, that they will all say that you should use a USB cable (discussed here in great detail), a premium subscription and Win96 for the programming. Or perhaps someone can send you a Win96 file that you can use.

Best Regards...Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!

Last edited by ka3jjz; 12-01-2010 at 8:07 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:06 PM
K4IHS's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 668
Default

PRO96 is in the menu?

Last edited by K4IHS; 01-28-2011 at 8:40 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks guys. The hex number is 476. Also I would like north lake Travis fire hex number is cde. If you could please convert it for me. Thanks alot
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:20 PM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,889
Default

If memory serves, that's an import function from a PRO-96 - The 96 doesn't use object oriented programming, which radios like the PRO-106/197 do.

I highly doubt Win500 would work on a PRO-96- like I said, that's WIN96's job 73 Mike

[edit] Yup - from the website...

Import P96 and P97 files, as well as reading directly from the PRO-96, PRO-97, PRO-2096, and PRO-2055 scanners.
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!

Last edited by ka3jjz; 12-01-2010 at 8:22 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Default

I'm doing all of this from my itouch and am not able to access a computer. Is this win96 free? And of some one does have it can they convert hex 473 and hex cde for me? That would be awesome
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:29 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Default

Mike how do I put that tag 1142 into my pro 96? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:05 PM
letarotor's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 465
Default

WIN500 will convert your old WIN96 (.p96) and WIN97 (.p97) files but will not program the PRO-96. You need WIN96 for that.

For programming, you can choose either hex (HEX) or decimal (DEC) for Motorola systems or AFC (for EDACs systems) numbering for the system talkgroups in the software. On RR they are listed both ways.

Will the PRO-96 work on all sites in the Austin system? I seem to remember its a mixed CQPSK and C4FM multi-site/tower system. I can't remember if GRE updated the firmware to handle the latter.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2010, 4:48 AM
Wiki Admin Emeritus
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowie, Md.
Posts: 17,889
Default

If you check out the URL for Win96 (it's blue) in my message, you will find it's not free, but it's very good software - you get what you pay for.

However if you're doing this by hand, this might help. My only reservation is that it appears the Austin system is multi site - I am not there, so I don't know which site(s) would be the best one(s) for you to program...

Programming Shortcut Pro-96 - The RadioReference Wiki

best regards...Mike
__________________
links editor, Utility Monitoring Central
HF Forum moderator, RadioReference
Friends don't let friends buy Scancat Lite Plus!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2010, 1:50 PM
texasemt13's Avatar
CenTex DBA
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stringtown, Hays County, Texas
Posts: 2,407
Default

firecrazy,

I can probably email you a win96 file (it has a free 30 day trial, found here).

You need to program up whichever site from GATRRS, that is closest to you. I'd try a Simulcast site first. To see a site's relative range click on the blue link of it's name. The Pro-96 will not trunk track in the 700MHz band so you can't listen to those sites (Central Austin and Caldwell Cty).

Program the frequencies in order, ensuring the "mode" is set to MOT (even though it's not a Motorola system, I know it seems weird) and that the "type" is set to "MOT."

The two talkgroup ids you need are:

1142- AFD Firecom West

3262- N Lake Travis Fire

I sold my Pro96 to a buddy of mine who works in Austin but still have all my old win96 files if you want them. Let me know if you have any other questions.
__________________
John H. "Boat" Boatright
Elecraft K2; RACAL 25; Yaesu FT-7900R, FT-270; GRE PSR-500
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2010, 4:54 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Texasemt13!! So in order for me to listen to those talk group ids, I need to down load win96? if you could email me one of those 30 day trials it would be awesome. I'm still getting used to my scanner and would really want to hear those channels. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2010, 6:29 PM
n5ims's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,946
Default

You may want to check out this article in the RR WIKI Programming Shortcut Pro-96 - The RadioReference Wiki it may help you program your PRO-96 manually. Based on what Texasemt13 indicated, you'll use the choices for "Motorola". Please note that the Hex and Decimal numbers are really just two ways of looking at the same number (kind of like English vs French). Some scanners want the number entered in Hex, others want it in Decimal. The database shows both so folks can just pick the one used by their scanner. I believe that your scanner uses the Decimal numbers, but since I don't have one of those scanners, I can't verify this (folks, please correct me if I'm wrong).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2010, 1:15 PM
texasemt13's Avatar
CenTex DBA
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stringtown, Hays County, Texas
Posts: 2,407
Default

You can program all of this manually but using Win96 allows you to visualize everything that is being done. I recommend it. Click "Get It" in this link to download the program, win96, under a free 30-day trial. You will need an RS 20-546 cable, or if you can find an older RS 20-047 cable, that will work also. These require a USP port on your PC.

As n5ims said "Hex" (hexadecimal, or base 16) and "Dec" (decimal, or base 10) are two ways of reporting the same thing, specifically used in computer science and mathematics (in our instance we can refer to them as the programming code for numerics). If I recall correctly, the 96 will accept both, but you'll have to switch between the two. I think the default is "Dec" (at least it is in win96).

If you press "Man" then "###" (where ### = the 3 digit bank/channel number where your trunking system is programmed; for instance if you have the GATRRS Simulcast 1 Site in bank 1, the ### = 100). Then press "Man" again and your scanner will jump to "100," show you the first frequency from the Site, and you should see that an "Mo" is in the top right hand corner. Press "Mode" to rotate through the modes (AM/FM/MO/ED) so that each of the frequencies (101-119) for that site all show "MO" in the top right hand corner. See me pic below to see that I'm in Bank 1 Channel 00 (=100).

I'd get win96 (to make your life so much easier). When you do, I can email you my A/TC file so you can tweak it to meet your needs. I've included a generic AFD screenshot from my win96 file. As you can see below the red arrow indicates the "trunking type." Even though this is not a "Motorola TRS" as they are known, the Pro-96 requires this scanner to be in "MOT" mode to receive trunked, P25 voice. The receive mode of each frequency (indicated by the blue arrow) should also be "MOT." The green arrow shows where to switch between Dec/Hex?AFS (AFS is used for EDACS trunking systems). The yeelow arrow shows this bank is "Closed" only receiving voice on talkgroups that are programmed in. If it was "open" it would receive every talkgroup (programmed or not). This system is way too large to listen to in open mode, so leave it closed. If not you'll hear Austin Energy, wastewater, AFD, UTPD, Manchaca, Pflugerville, Austin Convention Ctr. (etc., etc., etc.,; basically anything on the trunking system is passed through your receiver).

Let me know if I can be of more help.
Attached Images
 
__________________
John H. "Boat" Boatright
Elecraft K2; RACAL 25; Yaesu FT-7900R, FT-270; GRE PSR-500
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2010, 10:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hutto
Posts: 7
Default

Hey man I appreciate your time! Honestly right now I dont have the money to but the USB cord or the win 96 software. I guess I'm going to have to do this manually. First off, is there anyway you could find the frequencies for afd fcom west and n lake travis frequencies and tell me what they are? And since I'm short on cash, how can I do it manually? Thanks alot man you are being really helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dec, hex, pro-96, travis county

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions