RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Texas Radio Discussion Forum


Texas Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Texas.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2018, 10:08 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 56
Default Permian basin regional interoperability network

Gomez Peak, Coates Ranch (Iraan), King Mountain (McCamey) and Glass Mountain have been transferred to the GATRRS (13E) core. The remaining sites exclusive of Pool Road and Troy Road (Odessa) will be absorbed into 13E 4Q 2018.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2018, 8:47 PM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere other than home :(
Posts: 3,832
Default

Someone did a lot of driving.
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2018, 9:03 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Odessa, Texas
Posts: 64
Default

Kinda looked at it in RR. So when all are absorbed, does this system go "dead". Or does is work the same as before (same local talk groups etc), just extended out further? I guess in essence, PBRIN is completely removed from the database, and the two Odessa sites get wrapped up as a new TRS in the database.

Last edited by rn1nduk1; 07-20-2018 at 9:09 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 10:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

how do I load the King Mountain site in a TRX-2. I live in Upton co....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2018, 11:29 PM
hiegtx's Avatar
Mentor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
how do I load the King Mountain site in a TRX-2. I live in Upton co....
Use the Library import in EZ-Scan. That site is now linked in GATRRS. It's no longer part of the Permian Basin system. Based on the OP's comments, it appears that the rest of the sites on the Permian Basin system will also be moving. Be sure to get the latest library update for EZ-Scan (dated today) before proceeding with the import.
__________________
Steve
SDS100-436HP (2)-536HP-TRX-1-325P2-among others
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 8:13 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

I looked at the ezscan after updateing it and it shows all but King Mountain so entered it manualy just not sure if I did it right...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 8:53 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

but when I look at the cc of 154.3175 I see ssid of 130 not 13E
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:19 AM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere other than home :(
Posts: 3,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
but when I look at the cc of 154.3175 I see ssid of 130 not 13E
No, you see a NAC of 130.
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:38 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

ok so that's a NAC not the SSID...is the site up as of now, I've been listing for 2 days and cought no usage yet?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:41 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

is there a program for the TRX-2 like my old pro 197 where I can see the site info, SSID sig strength and such?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:45 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 7,477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
is there a program for the TRX-2 like my old pro 197 where I can see the site info, SSID sig strength and such?
Pro96Com - Control channel decoder for P25 Trunked Radio Systems
I don't know if it will show signal strength but I think it shows everything else.
I don't know if the TRX scanners have built in analysis mode or not.

There is also http://www.unitrunker.com but I don't think the latest public version supports TRX scanners PC I/O output. It will work if you do a discriminator tap mod to the scanner.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by nd5y; 07-22-2018 at 9:51 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:47 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

thanks since my 197 died I couldn't remember what sit I used for this...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 9:54 AM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere other than home :(
Posts: 3,832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
ok so that's a NAC not the SSID...is the site up as of now, I've been listing for 2 days and cought no usage yet?
I doubt any agencies are using it yet. It may be weeks before anyone actually starts using it on a regular basis.

I'd look for testing and occasional transient traffic until then.
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 10:07 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

this will work with my TRX-2?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 10:13 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: McCamey Texas
Posts: 39
Default

this is true I can still hear the local SO's on there analog and digital channels, I'm kind of curious to see who ends up using it.... The PBRPC system didn't get much use from any one but Odessa &Ector county
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 5:27 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
ok so that's a NAC not the SSID...is the site up as of now, I've been listing for 2 days and cought no usage yet?
Probably be awhile. No one to my knowledge has reprogrammed for 13E. As I indicated in an earlier post, TxDOT will be the big user.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 5:50 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 56
Default

A bit of trivia, all of the TGs changed, as there were multiple 1FB TGIDs that conflicted with existing 13E.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2018, 7:39 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Odessa, Texas
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayer7303 View Post
this is true I can still hear the local SO's on there analog and digital channels, I'm kind of curious to see who ends up using it.... The PBRPC system didn't get much use from any one but Odessa &Ector county
You may not hear any of it anymore that way. For giggles, i decoded the Midland VHF Site. The only sites left it talks to are the northern sites. One site (dont remember which one) still shows but fails to link. Suppose the rest of it (VHF at least) will be moved as planned for Q4 this year (if I recall correctly). No idea if Odessa/Ector will even be heard on the exisitng sites once cutover is made.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2018, 6:47 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rn1nduk1 View Post
You may not hear any of it anymore that way. For giggles, i decoded the Midland VHF Site. The only sites left it talks to are the northern sites. One site (dont remember which one) still shows but fails to link. Suppose the rest of it (VHF at least) will be moved as planned for Q4 this year (if I recall correctly). No idea if Odessa/Ector will even be heard on the exisitng sites once cutover is made.
The Midland, Gardendale and Notrees 800 sites are owned by the PBRPC, and will move to GATTRS.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2018, 7:26 PM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere other than home :(
Posts: 3,832
Default

It's pretty cool that you could conceivably talk from Fort Davis to Texarkana now.
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gatrs, permian basin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions