2014 Ford Explorer LTD

Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
88
Location
Panama City Beach, FL
#1
This was a very slow process, not everything was put in at once. The switches went in first (for emergency lights) followed by the MCS2000 800mhz. The NMO trunk mount from my previous vehicle I used on the hood as seen in the pictures For the MCS. The radio in the center console is one of those Chinese knockoffs with the UV-5R firmware. Surprisingly it works okay, and it fits great in the console which I can close and you should have no idea it’s there. I had been running it off a mag mount since I got it. Just yesterday i got enough courage to drill a hole in the roof and installed the Roof NMO mount. I got my explorer from my dad—unfortunately it has DUAL sunroofs! So not much antenna space and more rattles!! As you can see in the roof antenna picture, you can definitely see where the mag mount was for so long. But I might add more NMO mounts behind and to the left and right of the center one. We will see...let me know what you think, I will let you know if I update anything!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
88
Location
Panama City Beach, FL
#5
You did an awesome job. What is the HT used for?
The HT is pretty much identical to the MCS in the car, programming wise, it’s a MTS2000, programmed up for the county’s trunked system, just like the MCS2000, I just threw it in there for the photo. It’s my chosen everyday carry radio when I am in the county and want to listen to public safety.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
1,095
#6
Thanks for the pic I requested. Looks great. What kind of mount is the open coil on the hood, and are there any clearance issues when the hood is open?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
88
Location
Panama City Beach, FL
#7
Thanks for the pic I requested. Looks great. What kind of mount is the open coil on the hood, and are there any clearance issues when the hood is open?

Thanks again.
The mount on the hood is a NMO trunk Lip Mount I took off of my previous vehicle, I have no clearance issues with it, as long as the antenna is not too long, I did bend the antenna a little so it would point straight up (just so it looked better) and even then I had no problem with it hitting the glass.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
88
Location
Panama City Beach, FL
#9
Did you put any kind of backing plate under the roof antenna? I found the roof panels to be very thin, in the order of an aluminum can, so I put a 1900 box cover on the inside to stiffen up the roof on the 3 antenna's I installed so if the antenna gets hit it woun't tear a hole in the roof.
No, I haven’t put anything up there to support it yet, you said you installed three antennas, I assume you have the same or similar car, may I ask where you installed them? I agree though, I wasn’t expecting to be done installing the antenna so fast, it really is thin metal up there


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,519
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
#10
I have the 2015 PD version that was built for admin, same color as yours black with black cordura interior, full carpeting with a black grill ( nice car ). I was able to get due to a screwup by the dealer, but that's another story for some other time. It has the center console but no shift lever. There are a total of 4 antenna's on the roof including the AM/FM antenna, so I took the total roof dimension from edge of windshield to edge of roof line by hatch and divided it.
I don't know if civilian Explorers has this, but the entire inside headliner was attached with magnets. Dropped the roof liner and after drilling the 3 holes and putting the backing plates ran all the coax down the passenger "B" pillar. Radios are mounted under both the drivers and passenger seat mounted to the roll cage frame that supports the seat. There is also room in the compartment behind the rear seat where I put a vehicle repeater.
I built a custom cable setup that takes 3 radios one for each band VHF,UHF and 7/800 using XTL5000 and Astro Spectra's and runs them through one control head.
 
Top