3 Scanners & don't know what to do with them!

Status
Not open for further replies.

daciscoml

Hi, New here!
I have 3 Scanners & don't know what to do with them. I used to listen to the police and Ambulances(EMS), as I was a Paramedic in the U.S. Army, but all this trunking stuff is still confusing to me. I did learn a little about it ,but that was about 10 years ago.
Are there any "Trunking for Dummies" websites or something that will explain this stuff in laymans terms. I really want to study for my FCC license, now that I am permanently disabled I will find the time to do that, but I really want to learn this "TrunkTracking" as fast as possible. I have a couple of friend's that know this system, but they both each teach a different way and it gets confusing, I need just "ONE SOURCE" that is put in a simple way and a quick way to learn it.
Also, I would like to find a place to learn about taking the First FCC Test..

1)Radio Shack- HYPERSCAN-PRO2039 DeskTop
2)Radio Shack- Uniden- TrunkTracker PRO-90
3)Uniden- Bearcat- TrunkTracker-BC235XLT

Please help me with any help you can provide me.
Thanks for any and all help from yoiu guys or gals!

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Let's start at the beginning - your scanners. I have found where you can either download the manual or download the web page(s) for each of the 3 radios you listed;
(note that anything in blue or underlined is a link)

Index to Scanners

http://www.usascan.com/pdf/bc235xlt.pdf

The 2nd link is a PDF file - you will need Adobe Acrobat to read it. It's available from LOTS of places - do a Google search if you don't already have it. Note that the 235 and 90 are basically the same radio (the 90 is a BC235 in a Radio Shack case).

Now let's get started - you asked about trunking; this PDF article by our own UPMan does an excellent job in getting you started down that path...

http://www.uniden.com/products/ButIjustwanttolistentothePolice.pdf