Is This The Best Setup For Me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeThompson

Right off the top let me just say that I am very very green when it comes to shortwave. I also don't have an electrical background, so any technical explanations will go right over my head!

I discovered this forum and it has been very helpful in helping me with my current setup. I have an ancient Grundig 865:

that is setup in my basement work bench. My antenna currently is 100ft of speaker wire that goes along the outside of my house under the eaves.

I've been reasonably happy with what I've been able to get.

But...

Obviously I'd like to get more stations, and with less noise.

Is a loop antenna the solution? I have limited space to work with, but would it be possible to mount a loop behind this TV antenna on my roof? I would be able to feed it back to my basement:

The idea of building one seems appealing, but again, I've never done anything like that before, nor do I know if that would benefit me. Maybe I am just at the limit of my receiver? There is an external antenna jack, but I don't think it cancels out the whip, and there is plenty of noise in a house.

Any help or general advice is more than welcome!

gcopter1

Premium Subscriber
When it comes to loops, the further away you can get it from the house, the better it works at keeping the noise low. Also I've read that loops need not be high up. Mounted on a tripod at ground level, should suffice.

I've got a loop in my attic because I live in an apartment and I have no room to move it outside and place it on the ground.

Welcome to the hobby!

WA8ZTZ

The loop needs to be in the clear away from the TV antenna. You also need a means to rotate the loop.

MikeThompson

When it comes to loops, the further away you can get it from the house, the better it works at keeping the noise low.

Hmm, well I was hoping for something semi permanent that I could set up and forget about.