Is the D-130J going to meet my needs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrMikeAZ

Hello,

I will start off that I am a novice and am learning about all this now. I am looking to setup a small antenna to communicate with my local homesteaders in my area. The idea is to be able to communicate within the 8 to 10 mile area of my house. I happen to be in the middle of our group of friends out here. I am thinking I could be the center of communications for everyone. I know they could not talk to each other and we cannot communicate outside of cellular right now(CB and FRS at ground level has too much interference), but I can communicate to everyone for others. We were thinking of CB communications for this. And it seems that this antenna would do CB as well as FRS and various other frequencies. Would CB be the easiest/best?

We want to be able to have hand held units on everyone's homestead that we can walk around with. I know with the antenna, I will be limited to what is actually connected to the antenna if I am understanding this correctly( cant have a CB radio in hand and use the antenna if its not connected).

I was thinking this antenna would be good as it would allow me to play around and listen to other bands as well as allow us to use other bands like FRS or something else as well. I think it would be fun to be able to listen to various things at night when I have down time. If I am liking the hobby more than just comms with neighbors, I was thinking of getting a license. But time will tell.

The idea was to mount this to a very large tree that I have. I have one of the biggest trees in the area at around 70 feet where the antenna would be mounted on a previously cut branch(about 90% up the tree). And its pretty close to my house so the line would not have to run too far(less than 200 feet). Of course, going to use 2 grounding rods on this with some thick insulated grounding wire running from the antenna to the grounding rods.

Thanks for your time!

prcguy