• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

A little DMR help PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#1
What am I missing? I purchased the DMR key. Updated everything. Created a 3 new favorites list..1 Westerville City Schools…2 Columbus Ham DMR…3 Ohio Health – Central Ohio. Enabled correct service types and tried 3 different antennas…So far not 1 transmission has been received.
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#2
Send me your code plug RakkFO@gmail.com

We could go back and forth with check this and check that, each round will take 8 hours.

How do you have them programmed? Off top of my head I think I have Ham programed as single site.

If you park your scanner on W8TRB 145.370 or 443.150 do you get any decode?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#3
RakkFO thanks for the quick response.

I am a little under educated here. I do not know what a code plug is.

All I did was go in to Sentinal clicked on each of the above and created 3 new favorite lists. I have had it on Westerville City Schools for about 2 hours with nothing at all. Before the switch to DMR (Last school year) I was able to hear the school and some buses most of the day.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
5,938
Location
Dallas, TX
#4
RakkFO thanks for the quick response.

I am a little under educated here. I do not know what a code plug is.

All I did was go in to Sentinal clicked on each of the above and created 3 new favorite lists. I have had it on Westerville City Schools for about 2 hours with nothing at all. Before the switch to DMR (Last school year) I was able to hear the school and some buses most of the day.
He's referring to your Favorites lists.

Export them into *.hpe files, then email. He can then load them and see what needs to be done.

File->Export to *.hpe on the menu in Sentinel.
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#5
Sorry I did not even think about the terminology.

Let's start small. What scanner do you have?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#6
RaKKFO - (436) Just emailed you a file..Thanks

hietx - Thanks for the explanation
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#7
It just occurred to me that if you are using Sentinel you must have a x36 series radio.

Go to settings then upgrade and DMR and let me know what you see


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#10
Ok so the ID: Search is set to off. Since there is no talk group id's programed the radio is searching for a known talkgroup but there are none.

Try setting ID: Search to on and let me know if there is any change. There is an icon with a star and pencil over top of it. Click that and the favorite list your DMR list is in, you should see ID: search. Double click on off and change to on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#11
I had it switched to ON eariler today, then turned it off. It's back on now (All 3 DMR Favorites)...Not a peep so far.
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#12
Ok so program the frequencies as a conventional system to see if you get any hits. Try the Columbus amateur radio DMR repeater first.

Maybe you are not in range? Have you ever decoded DMR?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#13
I will have to do some searching / reading to try and figure out how to create a conventional system….I’ll keep you posted on the progress…Thanks again.
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#15
I will program my scanner with your data. When I go to Columbus I will scan and see if I get anything.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#17
RakkFO – Thanks for all of the help. I have it working (somewhat) now.

W8RMH – I was reading about that yesterday and plan on giving it a try today.
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#18
So now you have it decoding you can hand program the TGID and see if that helps.

On the bottom right of your screen does it say CON or CON+


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

RakkFO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
189
Location
Centeral Ohio
#19
Also remember to submit the data you discover so the next person that wants to listen does not have to do all this work again please.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mgf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
11
#20
Just saw a tranmission on 460.2875 Color 13....Bottom right of screen was XTP
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top