A question about 2 meter base transceivers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

graywoulf

As a new tech class ham, I am studying for the general exam already but I would like to know if there are any lower priced multi band base transceivers out there that are good starter rigs for a newbie. I would prefer one that has memory for storing frequencies and is at or less than $400. I see that there are multi band and multi mode transceivers out there but I don't really understand the difference. Thanks.

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
If you are only looking for 2m, then a Yaesu FT-2980R ($140) or a FTM-3200DR ($150) which also has the C4FM fusion digital mode, as well as FM. The rest of the $400 can be put toward coax, antenna, mount and power supply. If you do not have any C4FM repeaters in your area, then the FT-2980 would be fine.

I recommend you pickup a dual band radio that handles 2m and 70cm. A good dual band radio for under $400 is the Kenwood TM-V71A. It can do various things you may like to do later, such as crossband repeating. Another dual band mobile under $300 is the Yaesu FTM-100DR. The 100DR is not as good as the V71A in my opinion, but the Yaesu offers C4FM and you could get onto the Wires-X network by connecting the appropriate cable to your computer. Additionally, there are plenty of hoops and configurations to do if you want to get onto Wires-X.

Multi-band = 2m (VHF), 70cm (UHF)
Multi-mode = FM, SSB, AM

I have multi-band, multi-mode radios but I primarily use them when contesting, specifically the ARRL VHF Contest. Unless you are planning on spending a handful of more money on specific antennas to better suit the SSB mode, you should be fine with FM. The mode the repeaters and most others in your area are using is the FM mode.

graywoulf