• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

AC power cord for Uniden HomePatrol 2?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
26
Location
Bloomington, Indiana
#1
Can someone (UPMan?) tell me if a regular AC power cord is available for the Uniden HomePatrol 2? I should receive the unit tomorrow from Amazon, but, as I understand, it only comes battery-enabled and with an alternate USB port to power it from your computer. I intend to use it as a desktop unit, so plugging it into the wall would be great! :)
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,847
#3
Can someone (UPMan?) tell me if a regular AC power cord is available for the Uniden HomePatrol 2? I should receive the unit tomorrow from Amazon, but, as I understand, it only comes battery-enabled and with an alternate USB port to power it from your computer. I intend to use it as a desktop unit, so plugging it into the wall would be great! :)
A commonly available wall wart that supplies standard USB interface power is fine. Cell phone charger etc.

For lower powered units, the batteries will not charge when the scanner is on. Higher powered units ( >1000 mA ) will charge the batteries when the scanner is on.

Check the HP2 owner's manual, bottom of page 29 and top of page 30, for detailed info and specifications.

Just as a side note, even when you are connected to AC power, the batteries should be kept in the scanner for certain functions to operate (such as recording and replay). Those functions will not operate on AC power alone.

.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
26
Location
Bloomington, Indiana
#4
Thanks to both of you! Yes, I did find one on Amazon that specifically says it will work on the HP2. I thought I looked before, but . . . ?? Oh, well.

Fxdscon, I think you mean that a "wall wart" is just a cell phone charger type thing. That's good, 'cause I can just run over to Walmart or Office Depot and pick one up! :)
 

W8RMH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7,805
Location
Grove City, Ohio (A Bearcat not a Buckeye)
#5
Mine is plugged into my PC all the time, as this connection is used for database updates as well. You should keep batteries in it too because recording and replay will not work without batteries. I charge my batteries in an external charger.
 

ChrisABQ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
444
Location
Albuquerque, NM
#6
The power cord that I purchased from Amazon powers and charges the unit fine. The USB, however, is quite different. If the scanner traffic is slow, it will charge the batteries during operation. If it's busy, there will be a very slow drain on the batteries while plugged in.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
26
Location
Bloomington, Indiana
#7
ChrisABQ, yes, that sounds like another reason to go with a regular power cord. And, plugging things into my laptop on the table in front of me sounds like an awkward "wires everywhere" situation!
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
94
Location
Beaver state
#12
Makes sense, no one should be charge batteries in the scanner. But just power supply to power the scanner other then batteries that plugs in the wall would be nice. I had BC-125AT scanner and powered the scanner with USB cable plugged into the wall, it had a lot noise on the everything I would receive.
 
Last edited:

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
#14
Yes. If you don't want to charge in the scanner (which is perfectly OK to do most of the time), then select "Don't Charge" when prompted.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,118
Location
New Zealand
#16
But take note of what Baker245 said...

I had BC-125AT scanner and powered the scanner with USB cable plugged into the wall, it had a lot noise on the everything I would receive.
Those wall-wart power supplies have a square-wave oscillator in them that radiates wide band noise and may interfere with your radio.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top