• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

"Access to Path Denied" Sentinel Software

Fowler

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 24, 2002
Messages
129
Location
NM
#1
Hi Fans
I was updating my favorites files on my Sentinel program (Windows 10). Every time I tried to "Save" or "Save as" it popped up "Access to path denied" I checked some of my other apps (GD 77, MD 380) and found the same problem...argh!
After much head scratching and reading I remembered I had recently installed Malwarebytes on my computer. I disabled the realtime protection temporarily and tried to save my file...no joy.

I then checked the Windows defender program and noticed the realtime protection was on. Disabling that solved the problem.
I left the Malwarebytes realtime protection working and I can still save my files!

FYI YMMV
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
2,663
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
#3
I have disabled windows defender and use IObit antimalware protection and computer care suit of programs, that they have for free. I only have to remember to temporarely disable realtime protection if I want to do low level disk handling like formatting a SD card.

/Ubbe
 

afdscan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
232
Location
Central Indiana
#5
Each time I attempt to update either firmware or master database a box appears telling me "Updating unit failed. Operation is canceled. The operation has timed out." What do I need to do to correct this?
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,029
Location
Arlington, TX
#8
Well, that is odd. Usually the culprit ends up being Hughesnet (they block ftp). I'd suspect your firewall or virus software isn't allowing the software to access ftp.
 

vannossc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
69
Location
Schenectady NY
#10
I can't update either. "Updating full database failed. Operation is canceled. Access to path is denied." I've reinstalled as admin, provided full access to all directories. Disabled MalwareBytes. I can update the firmware in my 436 fine.
 

N0UDG

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
770
#11
If you are using a 536 or a SDS200 they have ports in the back and front. They are not equally capable of some tasks. You might try switching front to back or back to front to see if that works.

Might try checking the box in Sentinel to “Force Write Full Database”, I doubt this will help.

Next thing I would check would be the SD card it may be giving you trouble.
 

N0UDG

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
770
#14
436 in this case. Think that checkbox is gone now. Trying other things. May flash the card too.
My suggestion: (Might try checking the box in Sentinel to “Force Write Full Database”, I doubt this will help.) was too brief, sorry. I will give a bit more info.

In Sentinel when you click on “Write to Scanner” (to update the database or your FL lists) a dialog box will pop up, this is where the box you can check to “Force Write Full Database” will appear. However, this is a bit of a long shot.
 
Top