BCD325P2/BCD996P2: Advice Needed and Pro-Voice Question

I am looking at buying a BCD325P2 and had some questions:

1. First off, I am located in Houston, TX, Harris County & I primarily listen to ATC with a smattering of Emergency Services and railroads on the side. Is this the right scanner choice for me?

2. Would it be worth it to get the Pro-Voice upgrade? I am new to trunking scanners and not sure whether EDACS is a type of trunking system or if it is just a digital channel system?

I would purchase the NXDN upgrade, as one of the dispatch centers and area emergency services uses the NXDN system. I'll have to check and see if any agencies uses DMR and purchase the DMR upgrade at a later time.

tvengr

Well Known Member
2. Would it be worth it to get the Pro-Voice upgrade?
EDACS systems are at end of life. They are being replaced by other types of systems, mainly P25. The BCD325P2 will receive analog EDACS systems without an upgrade. If an EDACS system has digital talkgroups, they will be ProVoice and will require the upgrade. There are not many EDACS systems left. I don't see any in Harris or any of the surrounding counties. The ProVoice upgrade would be a waste of money.

Last edited:
Is it correct that the BCD324P2 is not a good choice for listening to simulcast? Given my financial situation I cannot afford a $500+ scanner and I am willing to live with the limitations.

trp2525

...Given my financial situation I cannot afford a $500+ scanner and I am willing to live with the limitations.
Since the beginning of the year I have noticed that there has been a significant price increase on the BCD325P2 (as well as most other models). There also appears to be what I have termed "price fixing" from most of the major scanner dealers/vendors online.