• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Another question from the noob

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#1
First, I would like to thank the RR community for giving me advice/words of encouragement on my last post. I have my Pro-668 up and running. I'm scanning Oceanside/Carlsbad/CHP frequencies on a Motorola Phase II trunked system. Here's the link to the RR page.

San Diego County, California (CA) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

The problem I'm experiencing is my scanner audio cuts out every second or so while I'm receiving transmissions. It makes scanning rather pointless because I cant make out what's going on. If anyone has a solution to this problem, or can direct me to a thread that will solve this problem, I'd really appreciate it. I've searched online and have yet to come up with anything. I've also read Mark's easy guide for the pro-668 and haven't found anything that helps. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#2
Turn off all priority settings. That is priority and weather priority.

If that does not solve it, your problem is simulcast distortion. Turn on attenuation to reduce reception to one site, or use directional antenna.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#3
Turn off all priority settings. That is priority and weather priority.

If that does not solve it, your problem is simulcast distortion. Turn on attenuation to reduce reception to one site, or use directional antenna.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
Thanks Mark, I really appreciate the speedy reply and the help!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#4
By the way. I did not see any phase 2 in the systems you linked. All Motorola Type 2, some with phase 1 digital.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#5
By the way. I did not see any phase 2 in the systems you linked. All Motorola Type 2, some with phase 1 digital.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
Ok, thought the Type two indicated Phase. I guess I was wrong, which is not surprising considering I'm on day three of the hobby. Thanks for the clarification!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#6
If it is phase 1 or phase 2 it will say Project 25 Phase 1 or 2.

No "Motorola" systems are phase 1 or 2 by setup. type IIIs simply a Motorola system type. Yours is the most common. However, some may use APCO digital voice over the Motorola system, which now makes them a digital system on those talkgroups identified with a D, and analog on other talkgroups.

Sent from my LG-V410 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#7
If it is phase 1 or phase 2 it will say Project 25 Phase 1 or 2.

No "Motorola" systems are phase 1 or 2 by setup. type IIIs simply a Motorola system type. Yours is the most common. However, some may use APCO digital voice over the Motorola system, which now makes them a digital system on those talkgroups identified with a D, and analog on other talkgroups.

Sent from my LG-V410 using Tapatalk
Got it. I appreciate the clarification, the world of scanners is way more complicated than I anticipated. I'm slowly but surely learning the terminology and how to properly set up my scanner. It's working great now, thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#9
It's actually much simpler than it used to be, now that the RR database has come along


Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
That's good, otherwise I would be seriously screwed. I bought my first scanner 24 years ago when I was eight years old using money I earned mowing lawns. I forget the model number, but it was a Realistic that I got on sale from Radioshack in 1992 for $225. It was as simple as dialing the frequency, I bought a companion book with California frequencies. Radios have come a long way.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#11
try lowering the antenna by half, if that dont work lower it some more.
By lowering the antenna, are you referring to lowering the db level? I know where that is in the settings menu. I believe I have it set at the factory setting -24db? Sorry, I require patience because I'm such a noob.
 

kmi8dy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
334
Location
ARIZONA and MICHIGAN
#12
no, your supplied antenna when scanner was new is most likely a telescoping antenna, shorten the antenna by calapsing (sp) the segments to a shorter length. it worked for me.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
12
Location
Oceanside, Ca
#13
no, your supplied antenna when scanner was new is most likely a telescoping antenna, shorten the antenna by calapsing (sp) the segments to a shorter length. it worked for me.
It came with a rubber duck antenna. I replaced the factory pro-668 antenna with a BNC type antenna from an old Uniden SC200 that I had laying around. The Uniden antenna gets much better signal strength and is a bit longer.
 

kmi8dy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
334
Location
ARIZONA and MICHIGAN
#14
oh, ok my bad. there are really short antennas fore sale out there, like 1 or 1 and 1 1/2 inches long. there called "stubby " antennas that might work, they are like rubber duckies but rigid. it your having symocast problems sometimes it helps by using smaller antennas so you don't pick up as much signal.its explained in rr wiki.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top