• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Antenna coax cable

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
62
#1
I am looking for a good quality coax cable about 75 feet long. I am looking to monitor VHF low band and high band and UHF. I am using a Bearcat scanner and a Scantenna antenna. Any help as to what type and where I can find it at will be appriciated.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
203
Location
North Alabama
#3
For 75 feet length, you'll want low loss coax especially for UHF. LMR400 is an excellent low loss cable. If it's too expensive, though, RG6 also works well. Whatever you do, don't get RG58.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
406
Location
Indianapolis
#5
not cheap frugal

I've bought both LMR and Heliax used with great results. Ebay as well as QTH.com are good sources. LMR 400 will take the big coax style PL259 and you can adapt to the BNC.

N connectors are are OK for military stuff (purists) and if you need to transmit high power but RS won't have them. JMO, they are a pain for casual scanners.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
223
Location
York PA
#6
I bought my LMR400 from bizsyscon and then had a jumper cable made by Wireman. Had both in my hands in less than a week. You can find adapters for N connectors from many vendors.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
62
#9
This LMR 400 coax, wil it work well with low band, hi band and UHF? Also is there different qualiy of cable depending on manufacturor or is it all pretty much the same.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
203
Location
North Alabama
#11
ATTACKFF said:
This LMR 400 coax, wil it work well with low band, hi band and UHF? Also is there different qualiy of cable depending on manufacturor or is it all pretty much the same.
Yes. The less loss you have the better, especially with the high bands. If you're trying to pull in distant signals, low loss coax, like LMR400, is a must.

As for manufacturor, Times Microwave is the brand name I believe. There are some people selling Times Microwave LMR400 coax on Ebay for a good price. There are also some other sellers selling the same coax with a different brand, which I'm sure works just as well.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
#12
I had RG 6 I was using until recently..I could hear my local on 150-170 mhz fine but when it came to the neighboring county which uses 460 and 800 mhz I could barely hear them..Since I switched to LMR 400 I can hear 150-170, 450-460, and even 800-1200 GREAT! Yeah, I makes a HUGE difference...on ALL bands, Even low band I can hear now..
 

chrismol1

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
22
Location
Saratoga
#14
I have about 100 feet of waterproof LMR-400, the stuffs great. You hafta use that stuff.
Anyone use LMR-900 i believe the name is, the new stuff?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
5,907
Location
175 DME, HEC 358° Radial
#15
ATTACKFF said:
Someone also suggested a LMR 600, anyone have any thoughts about that coax?
Larger, harder to handle, significantly more expensive, lower loss. It's all just a trade off. For a length of 75', the lower loss is not significant enough to outweigh the additional cost and difficulty in handling it.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
62
#16
Hey I just got 75 ft of the LMR 400 off ebay with the connections I needed and weathergaurd on the outside connection for $85.00. Thanks to all who gave me advice, I just hope it improveds my reception.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
1,059
Location
N. Tex / S. Fla
#17
ATTACKFF said:
Hey I just got 75 ft of the LMR 400 off ebay with the connections I needed and weathergaurd on the outside connection for $85.00. Thanks to all who gave me advice, I just hope it improveds my reception.
Probably not going to improve it noticeably. 75 feet just isn't that far in coaxial loss terms. And most significant loss is above UHF, at 800mhz and above, which doesn't really affect you. And, of course, no matter what quality coax you use, you still are plugging into a cheap arse 300 ohm firecracker transformer at the television grade antenna, resulting in loss.

It won't hurt, but don't get your hopes up for major improvements. You'd be extremely lucky to notice the difference even on a service monitor. If you see major improvement, it's probably more likely that your old coax (or connectors) was simply faulty to begin with.
 

andrewccm

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
284
Location
Dallas/Fort Worth
#18
btritch said:
I had RG 6 I was using until recently..I could hear my local on 150-170 mhz fine but when it came to the neighboring county which uses 460 and 800 mhz I could barely hear them..Since I switched to LMR 400 I can hear 150-170, 450-460, and even 800-1200 GREAT! Yeah, I makes a HUGE difference...on ALL bands, Even low band I can hear now..
Ok.. that is exactly my scenario... I am using the standard RG-6 that came with my ST-2... Looks like I'll be ordering that LMR-400 tonight.

Will I just need an adapter for the ST-2 for the connectors (N to F or BNC) or what? Sorry for the newbie question.
 
Last edited:

andrewccm

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
284
Location
Dallas/Fort Worth
#20
Thanks.. I looked at my local Frys and they carry them for a couple of bucks.. I'll swing by and grab 2..

Is there any benefit to replacing the transformer that comes with the ST2? Just curious...

I ordered the LMR400 just a couple of minutes ago.. Looking forward to getting it...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top