Antenna / Coax Upgrade Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

synthetik

This is a long post so I appreciate anyone willing to take the time help :)

I'm fairly new at this and my first stab at creating a feedline and antenna set up for the new base station I certainly made some mistakes. I've learned a lot since then and have been researching like crazy. I'm considering an upgrade and would love more experienced hams opinions on if it will make a meaningful difference and is worth the money. For a little reference, this is an apartment set up where I can not mount anything permanently.

The whole set up is on an 18' painters pole zip tied in place at several points which is actually very stable even in high winds.

This is for UHF/VHF only.
Current SWR:
varies from about ~1.5 or 2.5:1, also goes up slightly with power increase so a sign something is off.

Current Setup:
Antenna: MFJ-1432 Mobile antenna, 2m/70cm, UHF/NMO, 5ft
Supposed gain from MFJ (I'm skeptical on this): 7/8 Wave 5.0dB Gain on 2m 5/8 Wave 7.6dB Gain on 70cm
Mount: Tram Stainless Steel So-239 to So-239 Antenna Mirror Mount (bolted to painters pole)
Ground plane kit: Harvest 1401 V/UHF Dual Band Ground Plane Converter Kit (likely not an exact match and causing some impedance miss match)
Feedline: 35' American made RG8U with UHF male on both ends
Manufactures line loss stats:
1.8dB @ 150MHz/1.22kW/65.4% E
3.3dB @ 450MHz/0.69kW/47.3% E

I'm thinking of switching to the following:
Antenna: Diamond Original X50NA (considered the 10' model but likely just too large for our small place).
Slightly lower gain but I trust Diamond's stats more.
Mount: 2 u bolts, comes with the antenna
Ground plane kit: built into the antenna and likely much better matched.
Feedline: 35' Times Microwave LMR-400 Cable Assembly, N-Male To Pl-259 (Uhf Male) Connectors, 35 Feet Long

My thoughts are, better manufacture antenna with pre-matched radials,