Any Thought about Making Database a Wiki?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BirkenVogt

I am under the impression that the database admins are backlogged somewhat and with the emergence of the Wiki as a new format for data, I was wondering if anybody had entertained the idea of making the database a wiki instead of its current format. I think it would work very well and cut down on what I presume is a large work load for a few people. It might also make it easier for people to enter their own system's quirks along with the freqs so people could understand systems better from the get-go. I am relatively new to this web site however, but not to radio.

Birken

Dubbin

Feed Provider
I think it would turn into a big mess with lots of useless freqs that have not been confirmed. What we have now is working so lets not break it.

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Super Moderator
Birken,

What gives you the impression that the database admins are backlogged? They are plowing through submissions quite nicely.

If you are using the "how many submissions are in the queue" as a barometer - don't. One person using the Unidentified FCC can submit 30 submissions within a few minutes... and one admin can work them fairly rapidly.

Furthermore, with all the upcoming and current applications for the database, like the Web service, structured data is very very important.

Warm regards,

Lindsay

mike_s104

Premium Subscriber
I've submitted changes/additions and they were either posted the same day or the very next day. I HATE the wiki. giving the ability for anyone to change data at will is very scary. the database is great (with a few things I have posted here before) and letting it go to Hell would sicken me.

bassmkenk2508

yea, for example if it says 170 submissions pending, those could have been 170 submissions given by people nationwide say within the last 12 hours. That is 3 to 4 submissions per state. No problem for the, at least, one admin per state.