• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Apco-25 Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ratman3

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
3
I just bought the Radio Shack PRO-96. My local PD uses a digital trunking system APCO-25 with a frequency of 453.500. I have tried to program this into the PRO-96 following all directions, but I still cannot pick up transmissions. Am I missing the control frequency? Or what? What am I doing wrong?????
 

ratman3

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
3
City of Ladue, Mo. Using the data base on RR, the freq. 453.5 and 458.5 input. APCO-25. I am guessing I need codes or something else.
 

hill

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
490
Location
Middle River, MD
It is not a Trunking system, but just a conventional freq with digital P25. You don't need anything other entering the 453.500 Mhz. Make sure you don't enter the PL, since P25 will not work with a tone. Just enter it CSQ and should work.

Larry
 
Last edited:

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,712
Location
Fortunately, GA
ratman3 said:
My local PD uses a digital trunking system APCO-25 with a frequency of 453.500. /QUOTE]
As stated in the previous post, program the radio in FM mode for that frequency without adding any CT. It will decode the P-25 with a "DG" at the end of the first line. It will sound different than an analog (conventional FM) signal.
HTH,
Larry
 

ratman3

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
3
Thank you for your help. I have entered the frequencies as "FM" w/o changing the mode to CT, DC, ED or MO. Simply as FM. That is correct right? And that is all I need to do?
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
ratman3 said:
Thank you for your help. I have entered the frequencies as "FM" w/o changing the mode to CT, DC, ED or MO. Simply as FM. That is correct right? And that is all I need to do?

Yes it is
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top