• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Apx2000 programing issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay12

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
66
#1
Using latest version 15 Trying to program my
apx2000 700/800, have a Type II and 2 p25 systems , astro25 800mhz and astro25 700mhz systems. After loading all 3 systems into the software I keep getting an invalid field error 700mhz which won't let me write the radio. It is saying the system type Astro 25 in the P25 is incorrect (red lettering) on the 700mhz band

Thanks in advance for any help.
 

dpcain

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,392
Location
MD
#2
If you can attach a screenshot, that would be very helpful for clarity.

There are several settings or model flash options working together that might cause any such invalid field. What's it flashed for?
 

jay12

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
66
#3
This is the flash code i will try to get screen shots later

RO106S0214807

Decoding Flashcode: RO106S-021480-7

Q806: ASTRO IMBE Digital Operation
G996: Over the Air Provisioning
H43: Trunked Remote Monitor/Radio Trace
QA00569: Primary Band: 700/800
QA00583: Enable Bluetooth Operation
QA01749: Legacy SW System Key Enable
QA01843: Man Down Operation
H38: SmartZone Systems Operation
H46: Trunked One Touch Status Message
QA01770: Enhancement Level 1
Q947: APCO Packet Data Interface
Q173: SmartZone Omnilink MultiZone Operation
Q361: ASTRO 25 9600 Baud
 

jay12

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
66
#5
That was it thanks . Do they all need to be same as control channels aswell
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,845
Location
BEE00
#6
Do they all need to be same as control channels aswell
Your question doesn't make sense, so I suspect that you're not filling out the ASTRO 25 Channel ID table correctly. You can't just put random values into that table. I would suggest that you find someone local who is familiar with both the system you are trying to program, as well as the APX CPS, to help you out.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2,779
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
#7
Didn't think the APX1000/2000/4000 would support both analog/3600 and 9600 systems in the same c/p.

We have 40 APX4000 one-knobs and had to collect them all up from one of our agencies, reprogram in one shot as we migrated from a legacy Smartnet to 7.14 because the radios would not accept both system types.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,845
Location
BEE00
#8
R0106S-021480-7 is a valid FLASHcode for the APX 2000, and the two system types can coexist within the same codeplug.
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#9
Didn't think the APX1000/2000/4000 would support both analog/3600 and 9600 systems in the same c/p.

We have 40 APX4000 one-knobs and had to collect them all up from one of our agencies, reprogram in one shot as we migrated from a legacy Smartnet to 7.14 because the radios would not accept both system types.
They can if QA02811 is removed from the codeplug.

Edit: I know the 4000 can but have had limited experience with the 1000/2000 so can't speak on those.

Marshall KE4ZNR
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,047
Location
Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
#10
In 2014 when we were preparing to migrate to our new 800 P25 system from our single site Smartnet system all the new APX6000's were issued out as the final stages of the P25 system was completed and in testing. When they were programmed we had both our Smartnet system as well as our new P25 Phase 1 system. They carried over an identical fleet map from our MTS2000's, as well as the new fleetmaps for the P25 system that way everyone had their new radios in place when we were rolling over.

The way we differentiated the systems was the zone identifiers used Z1, Z2, etc for the Smartnet system, and P1, P2, etc for the P25 system. The mobiles were changed to match as well. Mobile wise we had a mix of MCS2000's & Spectra's that were upgraded to XTL2500's and XTL5000's with a mix of O5 and W9 style heads.

I know that was a little more than what was asked for lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top