• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

arc996 file names

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gmoz

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
33
Location
North Carolina
I have changed the names of several systems and would like the system file names to reflect the changes but I can not figure out how to make this happen. The software just uses the original file name no matter what I try.

Any help is greatly appreciated

Frank
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
Gmoz said:
I have changed the names of several systems and would like the system file names to reflect the changes but I can not figure out how to make this happen. The software just uses the original file name no matter what I try.

Any help is greatly appreciated

Frank
Maybe you can change it within the program.
 
Last edited:

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
In the File menu use Save System As when you save it change the name. You can then delete the older file.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
n2mdk said:
In the File menu use Save System As when you save it change the name. You can then delete the older file.
I agree, that's the best way to do it, forgot about that myself... Don't know if that will cause a problem though, the pfl file will look for that file name when it loads I think, my software expired or I would try it.
 
Last edited:

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
Highpockets said:
I agree, that's the best way to do it, forgot about that myself... Don't know if that will cause a problem though, the pfl file will look for that file name when it loads I think, my software expired or I would try it.
Hi Steve
Yes if he's using a profile to load from he should create a new profile or save the profile once the systems are renamed and loaded into ARC996, from the files with the new names. You can simply do it your way as well through Windows Explorer using a right click and rename.
 

Gmoz

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
33
Location
North Carolina
Actually I figured it out, once you select a system there is a menu command under file that says clear filenames of all systems. When you click on this all the old file names are cleared and the next time you save it will default the filename as the system name. If you do this I would suggest saving the files in a new location so you do not have duplicate systems with different names.

Thanks for all the help

Frank
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top