Assistance with XTS 3000 CPS

Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
59
Location
New York, USA
#1
Good morning. I've followed about every guide I've seen on "ASTRO Saber & XTX 3000 CPS" but I'm still getting "Communication with radio failed" after about a second of pressing the read button for my XTS 3000 Model III.

It is on the proper com port

I tried it on windows 10 x64, w7 pro x86, w7 in xp compatibility mode, and Windows XP pro x86.

I tried it on a couple PCs and on an ESXI VM host using two USB adapters (one model works for other people for sure) and an actual serial port, on two different new cables i ordered.

I tried the default port settings and I've tried messing with those settings but no change.

I know the radio works, the guy I bought it from did default programming, but he charges for custom programming and I already have all the equipment. Also most guys don't program trunk zones for some reason.


Does anyone have any ideas? Is there some sort of programming mode the radio needs to be in like the Minitor V's? Any FULL video on setting this up that might show com port settings or something?

Edit: In W10 and 7, i tried running as admin, in compatibility for 7 vista and xp, and in various combinations.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
454
Location
Pine Ridge, SC
#2
I had the same problem a week ago. Basically my problem was my USB to serial adapter. I bought another one (oddly enough, it was cheaper than the other one) and it now works fine. Also, windows 10 and some versions of 7 won’t work with the radios. I personally run Windows XP x32 for all my programming software.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
454
Location
Pine Ridge, SC
#4
Physical computer. That computer was bought by a family member in the early 2000’s, so it’s pretty old.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,086
Location
Medford, NJ
#5
Use a machine with XP if you can for programming. Use a real serial port if possible. If no real serial port is available you will have to experiment with USB to serial adapters until you find one that works or ask Will001 which one he used.

Also, there is a very good reason why sellers won't program trunked zones. Try it yourself sometime and you will see why.

Good luck with the radio.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,619
Location
Michigan
#6
XTS cable

I have been using a KawaMall cable for my xts 3000 for at least 4 years without any trouble. It uses a serial port, not USB, and Win XP 32 bit is the best choice for the OS. I also have an EF Johnson 5100 and the KawaMall cable has been totally reliable.
 

kv5e

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
137
Location
Texas
#7
WIN 10 with a virtual XP will work, if you have a serial port on the MB.

Mounting USB on a XP VM is not recommended.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2015
Messages
7
Location
Utah
#8
I run a Dell latitude with windows xp 32bit pro and all my cables are ribless on true serial port and I have never had any problems. I even use it to boot into true DOS and program mt2000 ht1000 and mtx9000 without any problems either. Years ago I bought the Dell off of eBay with no OS for like 100$ then threw xp on it and it still runs like a champ lol I may actually buy another one just in case
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
59
Location
New York, USA
#11
Figured it out (kinda), one of my old HPs worked using XP and 7, but the other PC didn't (both of which were clean windows installs). Either a serial port issue or it couldnt handle that specific port.

I did also try to pass the serial port through ESXI hypervisor to a VM running 7/XP/10 and that did not work.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,413
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
#12
Get yourself a Dell Latitude D830 or D820 or D630 laptop and dedicate as a programming laptop only. Run XP on it and install your CPS on it.

These models are the IDEAL programming laptop for supporting those radios. They are cheap these days, and highly reliable and quite rugged. Their shells are magnesium alloy, not plastic.

I have a small stockpile of these laptops. I hoard them. If one should develop a problem (rare but not impossible due to their age) then I just pop out the hard drive tray and put it in a spare computer and away it goes.
 
Top