• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Audio 3 server going down and up

Status
Not open for further replies.

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,089
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#2
No, no problems on our end. I have a number of feeds on audio3 and they haven't experienced a single hickup.

In checking the log on your feed it appears that it's been going up an down quite a bit. Things to check

1) Internet connection going up and down?
2) Are you running anti-virus on your computer? If so, it is a widely known problem that anti-virus software scans/processes impact feed availability.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
237
Location
South Carolina
#3
No, no problems on our end. I have a number of feeds on audio3 and they haven't experienced a single hickup.

In checking the log on your feed it appears that it's been going up an down quite a bit. Things to check

1) Internet connection going up and down?
2) Are you running anti-virus on your computer? If so, it is a widely known problem that anti-virus software scans/processes impact feed availability.
Yes i'm running an Anti-virus that provided by my Internet provider Charter Communcation witch is F-sercue

no my internet is not going up and down as i'm able access webpages when i get those notices .

i just switch scan program from scancast to radiofeed see if that help
 
Last edited:

webstar22

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
826
Location
Earth Sector 001
#4
I've been noticing the same thing. these are all from Proscan.
08/18/16 02:43:56 - Broadcastify Timed out
08/20/16 19:47:01 - Broadcastify Timed out
08/20/16 21:29:13 - Broadcastify Timed out
08/21/16 19:09:35 - Broadcastify Timed out
08/22/16 00:49:38 - Broadcastify Timed out
08/23/16 02:23:40 - Broadcastify Timed out

Now I run multiple streams to different icecast servers and they all stay online while Broadcastify goes out. Running form both Proscan and RadioFeed. I also use the API and graph my listeners and you can see the drop off. Even one 3 hours before this posting.

 
Last edited:

flythunderbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
999
Location
Grid square EM99fh
#6
Might try running PingPlotter to help identify where the problem is located on the path to the Broadcastify servers. I found it to be invaluable when troubleshooting my Internet connection several months ago. :cool:
 

webstar22

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 21, 2003
Messages
826
Location
Earth Sector 001
#8
I run 5 streams, 1 to Broadcastify, 4 to private icecast servers *same BF uses* and only the connection to Audio3 goes out. I also have dedicated VPN tunnels setup to my workplace while stay online and a pretty decent network and systems monitoring software which shows no network drop offs. I feel I am pretty safe in saying there is issues with Audio3.

I could setup a dedicated Ping sensor to ping the server every 5 seconds from multiple different sources and networks and even try to connect to it but I don't think Lindsay wants me filling up his firewall and icecast syslogs with ICMP and connection attempts.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,089
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#9
I run about 20 different feeds from about 4 different locations spread across the United States - from Montana, to Texas, to Virginia, spread between each of the master servers, 1, 3 and 9, and I've never experienced these drop outs for any of my feeds. I'm about to bring a new master server online in a different data center so we'll see if that helps some folks in the future.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

n0nhp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
708
Location
Grand Junction
#13
From the plot, it looks like you are having problems as I did in the last mile. In otherwords between you and the cable company head end.
I ran ping plotter on the trip between me and the DNS server address at the cable company. If you get red bars there, call the repair folks and keep calling until your ticket gets elevated to someone who knows what they are doing. Mine ended up with a replacement drop from the pole and some level matching in the house. Once that was done everything seems to have been corrected.
Good luck,
Don't give up

Bruce
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
237
Location
South Carolina
#16
Among other times, my feed has disconnected at exactly 5pm central on each of the last 3 days. Using RadioFeed.
You might want to open a support request and have your feed moved to a new server i had my feed moved off of audio 3 and they moved it to audio 1 server and i haven't had any issue with my since.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top