• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Bad Threads?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kruser

Retired
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
2,980
Location
St. Louis County, MO
#1
What's wrong with these forum threads?

https://forums.radioreference.com/p...0-new-handheld-scanner-stand.html#post3019298

https://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-tech-support/377522-problem-sds100-2.html#post3021936

https://forums.radioreference.com/s...-frequencies-500-mhz-600-mhz.html#post3021946

and maybe others.

Whenever this user https://www.radioreference.com/apps/user/?uid=1135286 posts in an existing thread, they all seem to do a continuous page refresh in both IE11 and the latest Firefox.
Threads that the above user creates do not show up at all, possibly due to moderation from what I can see of the users posts.

I can't say I've ever seen a thread at RR do this before.
I've even restarted my machine but when visiting one of the above threads directly instead of visiting them from the users recent posts activity page, they still constantly refresh.

I can click the stop button in either browser and view the threads without refresh but there are never any no posts shown from the user I linked above.

Odd!
 
Last edited:

K7MFC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 18, 2017
Messages
388
Location
Phx, AZ
#3
Yikes...I'm looking at the console in those threads and it is a complete mess:



I see a lot of requests for scripts that are throwing CORS errors, MIME type errors, and mixed content (HTTP/HTTPS) errors. The user you mentioned may possibly have a .gif as an avatar and that sometimes throws errors in threads they post in as well. Unfortunately, the usual response in here is "won't fix, site will be updated soon." I understand that there are limited resources to deal with stuff like this, but there are plenty of developers out there - myself included - who frequent this site and would gladly volunteer time to tackle bugs like this if RadioReference.com ever chose to go the open source route.
 
Last edited:

kruser

Retired
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
2,980
Location
St. Louis County, MO
#4
Yikes...I'm looking at the console in those threads and it is a complete mess:


I see a lot of requests for scripts that are throwing CORS errors, MIME type errors, and mixed content (HTTP/HTTPS) errors. The user you mentioned may possibly have a .gif as an avatar and that sometimes throws errors in threads they post in as well. Unfortunately, the usual response in here is "won't fix, site will be updated soon."
Wow, that is a mess!
I'm not saying this is a good thing but at least I'm relieved it's not something the snuck up on my end only.
Thanks for confirming this guys.
 

fxdscon

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,899
#5
Yikes...I'm looking at the console in those threads and it is a complete mess:

I understand that there are limited resources to deal with stuff like this, but there are plenty of developers out there - myself included - who frequent this site and would gladly volunteer time to tackle bugs like this if RadioReference.com ever chose to go the open source route.
The mods have mentioned several times in similar threads that completely new forum software is being tested and will be ready for roll-out soon.

https://forums.radioreference.com/forums-administration/378592-corrupted-thread.html#post3016419


The new forum software will be Xenforo

https://xenforo.com/

.
 
Last edited:

kruser

Retired
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
2,980
Location
St. Louis County, MO
#6
The mods have mentioned several times in similar threads that completely new forum software is being tested and will be ready for roll-out soon.

https://forums.radioreference.com/forums-administration/378592-corrupted-thread.html#post3016419

.
Yes they most certainly have. One would assume (hopefully correctly) that it will correct or prevent these issues or bugs without introducing any new ones!

Ha, I was just going to add the question if anyone knew what the new forum software will be. Hopefully Xenforo will work well here. I'm not certain if I've visited any sites running it though. Thanks for this info and I wish those involved here with the switch a big good luck. I must imagine swapping the message board to that platform will not be without issue. Hopefully all minor.
 
Last edited:

K7MFC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 18, 2017
Messages
388
Location
Phx, AZ
#7
Yes they most certainly have. One would assume (hopefully correctly) that it will correct or prevent these issues or bugs without introducing any new ones!
I'm optimistic, but also a little realistic. High traffic sites like this will typically do a slow roll out of the next version by directing a small percentage of users to the new version of the site, while simultaneously maintaining the current version. In my experience, it is somewhat atypical to put a freeze on bug fixes and allow the users' experience to continue to degrade in anticipation of an upcoming major version upgrade to fix all the known issues. Anywho, if the right eyeballs are on this thread - I urge you to consider open-sourcing part or all of the codebase and leverage volunteer developer help to address known issues like the one that is present in the above threads.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top