• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

bc350c scanning radio...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Q-ball

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
345
i wanna buy one of these just to put a few uhf/vhf things into...like medevacs and whatnot...now i am correct by saying that since these dont operate by using a trunking system, no control channel is needed correct?...its just take it outta the box and go thru the tedious process of putting the "input" frequencies in?.......i never understood why actual input frequencies, are different from the actual frequency..but whats the deal on this radio?
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Q-ball said:
i wanna buy one of these just to put a few uhf/vhf things into...like medevacs and whatnot...now i am correct by saying that since these dont operate by using a trunking system, no control channel is needed correct?...its just take it outta the box and go thru the tedious process of putting the "input" frequencies in?.......i never understood why actual input frequencies, are different from the actual frequency..but whats the deal on this radio?
No, you want to go through the tedious process of putting the frequencies in, not the input frequencies. As a person monitoring, you are interested in the output frequencies of the repeater, not the input from the mobiles.
 

bee

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
1,049
Location
Belmont, Ms.
It is a very good, cheap scanner, but does not trunk or do digital! Sound quality is excellent and there is plenty of volume.
 

CStarr59

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
340
Location
Schuylkill County PA.
If I'm not mistaken doesn't the 350C have a rather strange way of entering frequencies into the memory? I was going to buy one a few months ago and I read the manual online and decided not to purchase because of the strange way of programming.
 

ScanTheFreqs

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
84
yes, you cannot manually enter a frequency. you just have to let it go through its search range until it gets to the frequency you want to program, then you hold it on that frequency and save it
 

Q-ball

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
345
yea, i figure ill then install in my car with a larsen uhf/vhf antenna....
 

bee

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
1,049
Location
Belmont, Ms.
Yes, it has a "back light" that stays on "12 volt" or "wall-wart"! I have this scanner in my auto along with my 996t. The "sound quality" is better than the 996t, and or, the bcd 15(which is my home).
 

Mosfet80

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
1
Bc350c

I see are going on sale at several places. Does this mean that they will soon be obsolete since they do not cover digital? I was thinking about picking one up and installing it in my truck.
 

ScanTheFreqs

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
84
they might be going obsolete but i seriously doubt that is the reason, most scanners today do not cover digital.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top