• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD996P2 DB9 Serial Cable

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Horn Lake, MS
#1
Is there a cable that I can plug into the rear of a 996P2 for programming and logging? I don't like leaving a cable sticking out the front of my scanner. If this is possible, can anyone recommend a cable? I'd prefer to use the USB port on my computer but connect to the rear DB9 port of the scanner.
 

JamesO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
1,813
Location
McLean, VA
#3
Keep in mind that the USB may still have an issue if the computer goes to sleep or standby??

You may need to adjust the USB settings in the computer as well.
 

GSHastings

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
18
Location
The Dalles, OR
#4
You will need an RS232 to USB Null modem cable. I purchased this one on Amazon, and it works perfectly. And with it, the scanner connection will wake up properly when the computer wakes up after going to sleep.

StarTech.com 1 Port USB to Null Modem RS232 DB9 Serial DCE Adapter Cable with FTDI, Black (ICUSB232FTN )

Go to the Startech website and get their latest driver.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Horn Lake, MS
#5
You will need an RS232 to USB Null modem cable. I purchased this one on Amazon, and it works perfectly. And with it, the scanner connection will wake up properly when the computer wakes up after going to sleep.

StarTech.com 1 Port USB to Null Modem RS232 DB9 Serial DCE Adapter Cable with FTDI, Black (ICUSB232FTN )

Go to the Startech website and get their latest driver.
Sounds like exactly what I'm looking for...thanks!
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,212
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#9
That's the GPS port. Last I knew you couldn't program through it.
The GPS port can be used for programming. A null modem adapter is needed which all that does is crosses pins 2 & 3.

{edit} On the BCD996P2, it's preferred to use the rear port because the front USB port driver has some type of problem if the computer goes into sleep mode, the scanner needs to be power cycled.
 
Last edited:

n9mxq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
1,599
Location
Belvidere IL
#10
The GPS port can be used for programming. A null modem adapter is needed which all that does is crosses pins 2 & 3.

{edit} On the BCD996P2, it's preferred to use the rear port because the front USB port driver has some type of problem if the computer goes into sleep mode, the scanner needs to be power cycled.
Learned somethin new today.. It's a good day ;-)
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
1,906
#11
Yeah, I basically wanna use the rear DB9 on the scanner with ProScan for programming & control. The PC has serial ports on it, so I won't need USB. I have tried a serial cable with a gender changer and ProScan doesn't communicate with the scanner.
 

eaf1956

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
2,677
Location
Evansville, IN
#14
Yeah, I basically wanna use the rear DB9 on the scanner with ProScan for programming & control. The PC has serial ports on it, so I won't need USB. I have tried a serial cable with a gender changer and ProScan doesn't communicate with the scanner.
Get an RS232 Female to Female NULL Cable not a straight RS232 to RS232. Gender changer will only change from Male to Female or vice versa they won't do anything it you just get the right cable to start with.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
1,906
#15
Get an RS232 Female to Female NULL Cable not a straight RS232 to RS232. Gender changer will only change from Male to Female or vice versa they won't do anything it you just get the right cable to start with.
So something like this would work?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006B8BJ/ref=s9u_simh_gw_i3?ie=UTF8&fpl=fresh&pd_rd_i=B00006B8BJ&pd_rd_r=JYDRH091WYRRC4345T71&pd_rd_w=3PhZA&pd_rd_wg=mjhQd&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=&pf_rd_r=QEDYYCDSD9NVRBQY67EY&pf_rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=2a4fafb6-9fdc-425a-aee8-c82daa7b18ed&pf_rd_i=desktop
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
1,906
#18
Went ahead and got the null modem cable and it's working great. No more annoying cord sticking out the front of the radio. The baud rate is in one of the GPS settings. Even though you're not actually using a GPS, you have to set the GPS baud rate to match the software baud rate. I put mine at the highest setting 115,200: MENU > Settings > Set GPS Baudrate > 115200.
 

eaf1956

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
2,677
Location
Evansville, IN
#19
Went ahead and got the null modem cable and it's working great. No more annoying cord sticking out the front of the radio. The baud rate is in one of the GPS settings. Even though you're not actually using a GPS, you have to set the GPS baud rate to match the software baud rate. I put mine at the highest setting 115,200: MENU > Settings > Set GPS Baudrate > 115200.
Awesome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top