• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD996P2 loses USB communication

GSHastings

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
18
Location
The Dalles, OR
#1
I have recently purchased a BCD996P2, and have successfully programmed a conventional system into it with ScanPro. I leave it running at all times, connected to a 64bit Win 10 PC using the front USB port.

Everything works fine, until the computer times out and goes to sleep. Upon waking the computer, the communications with the BCD996P2 has become messed up.

The software sees that the scanner is there, but no data is being communicated. Nothing is displayed, and no controls function.

ScanPro tech support assures me that it is a problem with the USB driver/firmware in the scanner, and not a problem with ScanPro.

I tend to believe that, because nothing done on the computer clears the problem. The only thing that works, is power cycling the scanner.

ScanPro says they have seen this problem with the BCD996P2 before.

Anyone else have this problem? What are the odds that Uniden will respond and fix the driver?

Thanks,
Greg
 

GSHastings

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
18
Location
The Dalles, OR
#4
I've disabled USB Selective Suspend, but that doesn't fix the problem. The communication is broken when the computer snoozes. Power cycling the scanner fixes it right away, so it's not a huge problem.
Thanks,
Greg
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Horn Lake, MS
#5
I have a similar problem with a 996P2, Windows 10 and Freescan. I typically unplug and plug the usb cable and it reconnects. Mine looses connection randomly, sometimes in a few hours, sometimes in a few days. I just changed the setting above to see if it improves my situation.
 

JamesO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
1,813
Location
McLean, VA
#6
I've disabled USB Selective Suspend, but that doesn't fix the problem. The communication is broken when the computer snoozes. Power cycling the scanner fixes it right away, so it's not a huge problem.
Thanks,
Greg
I guess why let the computer "snooze", I leave mine on 7x24.

But also realize there are multiple sleep/snooze/hibernate modes. Also often there are driver problems with the USB or the machine BIOS.

Also go in power options and see what choices there are.

This does not sound like a scanner problem, but a computer/configuration/use problem.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,614
Location
NW Tenn
#7
Turn off go to sleep power setting always on. Never allow the pc to go to sleep. screen saver is ok but never go to sleep.
 

GSHastings

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
18
Location
The Dalles, OR
#8
I'm convinced it is in the radio USB driver, and not the computer. Everything has been tried on the computer side to revive the communication:

Restarting the computer, removing USB driver and letting the system redetect and install, disabling USB Selective Suspend, unplugging and reconnecting the USB cable, etc. have no effect.

Once the communication gets disrupted, the ONLY thing that re-established communication is power cycling the scanner.

Having the computer go into sleep mode is appropriate for our purposes. The computer can sit for hours and days unused (although it is usually used some every day).

It's a very minor problem, and easy to fix with a quick off/on of the scanner. But it does indicate that there is a bug in the firmware on the scanner that needs to be corrected.

Thanks All,
Greg
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,614
Location
NW Tenn
#9
I have 996ps that have been running online for a year and not drop the computer is set to never go to sleep. They work unless the pc goes to sleep.
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,212
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#10
I'm convinced it is in the radio USB driver, and not the computer. Everything has been tried on the computer side to revive the communication:

Restarting the computer, removing USB driver and letting the system redetect and install, disabling USB Selective Suspend, unplugging and reconnecting the USB cable, etc. have no effect.

Once the communication gets disrupted, the ONLY thing that re-established communication is power cycling the scanner.

Having the computer go into sleep mode is appropriate for our purposes. The computer can sit for hours and days unused (although it is usually used some every day).

It's a very minor problem, and easy to fix with a quick off/on of the scanner. But it does indicate that there is a bug in the firmware on the scanner that needs to be corrected.

Thanks All,
Greg
Hi Greg,
The only thing that will solve the problem in your case is using the rear RS-232 port. A null modem adapter is needed which is nothing more than a cable or DB9 M-F adapter crossing pins 2 and 3
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,733
Location
Central Ontario
#13
Interesting thread as I recently picked up a 996p2 and experienced the same problem.

Communications between Proscan and the scanner ceased. Reinstalled the drivers, started in safe mode, changed com ports, cables and even computers but no luck. Tried using Putty to see if the scanner was putting anything out but saw nothing. Wasted a lot of time trying to get it working again.

Just happened to change display modes and it started working again.

A few hours later and the same thing occurred. This time tried using another computer and it worked as soon as I plugged the usb cable in. Moved it back to the original computer and it worked. Happened again and this time I just unplugged the cable and plugged it back in again and it started working.

Not sure what's going on but it seems to be something with the scanner and not the computers.
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,018
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
#14
I've ran a win10 pp6p2 setup for over 25 hrs with Proscan and no issues. But.... I guarantee I've went through every iteration possible to keep anything from timing out. It's an older laptop - but spent a few years tweaking it.

Also , fwiw, have a 325p2 Win7 setup that run 24/7 and has for months into Pro96comm. It's my workhorse weather machine and been running for 3-4 years with only 1 or 2 re-boots.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
8,884
Location
PA
#15
Also , fwiw, have a 325p2 Win7 setup that run 24/7 and has for months into Pro96comm. It's my workhorse weather machine and been running for 304 years with only 1 or 2 re-boots.
You time-traveled that machine back to 1712???
 

kmi8dy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
334
Location
ARIZONA and MICHIGAN
#17
this is what works for me. i have a windows 10, 64 bit system: go to your control panel, under systems and security, then one right click at power options, one right click on blue phrase " change when the computer sleeps select " never " with all 4 selections. done
 
Last edited:

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,614
Location
NW Tenn
#18
I guess I am the lucky one My PROSCAN PC is a Dell 755 optiplex, Xeon quad core CPU, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro 64, 6 USB Sound Cards, Running PROSCAN 8 times,
#1 Uniden BC785D. #2 Uniden BCT15. #3 Uniden BCT15X. #4 Uniden BCT15X #5 Uniden BCD996P2 #6 Uniden BCD996P2 #7 Uniden BCD536HP #8 Uniden 536HP
With a BCD436HP and a Uniden BC346XT.
CPU load is 30% Used Ram 6 GB
 

Goldstar0971

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
8
Location
Lacey NJ
#19
I have a similar problem with 996xt. It looses connectivity for data flow. Only way to solve is restart computer. Does anyone know what the port settings should be? I am using a USB to serial adapter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,733
Location
Central Ontario
#20
I can tell you that my problem has absolutely nothing to do with the usb port on my computers sleeping. This occurs on freshly booted computers and I've tried disabling and reenabling usb ports with no change.

I'm pretty convinced it's the scanner.
 
Top