bct15x Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

benglish

I'm a newbie to scanning. I purchased the bct15x and have yet to get it to scan the way I want it to. So, several questions:
1. When I turn on the scanner with nothing programmed, I can tune it to my home state (minnesota) and it will scan police and fire frequencies. How do I learn what the default programming is for this scanner?
2. I've downloaded, installed FreeScan and then imported Minnesota-based groups/frequencies/TGID's/etc... from RadioReference. After uploading this to the scanner, it doesn't work.

In both #1 and #2, all I get is static noise.

What am I doing wrong?

Any advice is appreciated.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
You can learn about the pre-programmed stuff by using FreeScan to dump the entire contents - it will show that certain quick keys are tied to specific states or trunks. However, since so much of this has changed since the scanner came out, most elect to wipe the scanner clean and start fresh.

You can do that easily in FreeScan - when you upload, specify the 'ERASE' function (it's in red), as shown here...

File:FS upload queued v8.JPG - The RadioReference Wiki

As to why you're not hearing anything - the one thing you didn't mention was allocating -and enabling- the various kinds of quick keys - and that's a very important concept in DMA. I would go and get the Easier to Read manual for this radio - the index for the website that has these manuals can be found at the bottom of...

Program your DMA Scanner - The RadioReference Wiki

These scanners are very complex, and remember, there are no 'banks' anymore - so the quick keys tell the scanner what systems, sites and groups to actually scan.

HTH...Mike

Last edited:

benglish