• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCT8 Trunking; ripping hair out!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#1
Okay...

I'm really struggling over here and I could use some help. When I run this BCT8 in HWY mode, I get plenty of New Jersey State Police comm's.

On the banks that I program, I'm not getting the same traffic. Numerous times, I've programmed all trunked voice freq's in one bank. In another bank, I've programmed just the Control Channel freq's and set ARC8 Software to plan 1.

What the hell am I doing wrong? That's it...I'm taking hostages....LOL

Ray
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#2
Okay...

I'm really struggling over here and I could use some help. When I run this BCT8 in HWY mode, I get plenty of New Jersey State Police comm's.

On the banks that I program, I'm not getting the same traffic. Numerous times, I've programmed all trunked voice freq's in one bank. In another bank, I've programmed just the Control Channel freq's and set ARC8 Software to plan 1.

What the hell am I doing wrong? That's it...I'm taking hostages....LOL

Ray
Are you setting the trunk type to E2-800 in the bank with the control channels and is CC only turned on.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#4
I don't believe the BCT-8 has the CC only turned on feature.
Accoring to the manual it does, maybe I should have used the word Activated.

Control Channel Only Mode​
When this function is activated, trunking is performed using Control Channel data only.
Voice channel (also known as "DATA channel") frequencies do not have to be programmed
into memory. This feature only applies to Motorola 800 MHz systems.
1. Press and hold​
TRUNK for 1.5 seconds and select the bank you want to change.
2. Use the
or key to select (Motorola Type2 800MHz) or (Motorola Type1
800 MHz), then press
E.
3. Use the
or key to select , then press E.
4. Use the
or key to select a plan from 4 frequency plans,
then press
E. The scanner returns to Control Channel Only
list item.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#7
In rereading the post, if i read it right, I believe you are programing it wrong. The control channels have to programed in the same bank has the other frequencies.
In CC only mode, he won't need the voice channels, just the CC's in red and blue in the database for the system he wants to monitor. I don't want to confuse the OP, I'll wait and see how he makes out up to this point.
 

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#8
Yes to E2-800. Also....Yes to putting all freq's in same bank. Like I said, I used the software to program and I've even programmed a bank manually. I've read the manual many times. I've read forums. I've read....friggin tea leaves....

According to Uniden, I can program just the control channels and not need the voice freq's. Or, I could program the voice freq's.

Technically, I should be able to copy every Control freq from DB and set the bank for CC Only Plan 1. If I knew how Uniden setup the HWY mode, I would duplicate that in one of the banks. Frustrating.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#9
Yes to E2-800. Also....Yes to putting all freq's in same bank. Like I said, I used the software to program and I've even programmed a bank manually. I've read the manual many times. I've read forums. I've read....friggin tea leaves....

According to Uniden, I can program just the control channels and not need the voice freq's. Or, I could program the voice freq's.

Technically, I should be able to copy every Control freq from DB and set the bank for CC Only Plan 1. If I knew how Uniden setup the HWY mode, I would duplicate that in one of the banks. Frustrating.
If you put all the freq's, voice and CC's in one bank and set it to E2-800 and do not use CC only it should work.
 

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#11
Okay...

Copied all NJSP freq's from DB into bank 3. All Freq's have trunk turned on and 2 sec. delay. E2-800 system with Plan off. Status Bit On. End Code Detect. HWY mode is now off. Only using private banks.
 

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#12
Mr. Highpockets....

You Sir are responsible for me keeping some of my hair. One of the Talkgroups are coming in now. Thank you Sir. I am not Worthy.
 

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#14
Follow up Question....

Should I Not program the talk groups but instead do a search for ID's that only I can receive??

In HWY mode, I can get a handful of ID's. But in PVT, I only seem to get one ID coming in.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#15
Follow up Question....

Should I Not program the talk groups but instead do a search for ID's that only I can receive??

In HWY mode, I can get a handful of ID's. But in PVT, I only seem to get one ID coming in.
I'd have to read the manual, I don't know to much about that scanner, but, there should be a way to ID search, and the ones you like, there should be a key stroke to save them. Or you can enter the ones you just want to hear, once again, you'll have to read on how to do that, and not use search mode. When I get time I'll read on it if you can wait, or give it a try yourself using the manual and taking your time.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
#16
I just took a quick look at the manual, you should have no problem setting up ID Scan Lists for PVT mode, give it a try and let me know how you make out.
 

rbecker1963

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
43
Location
Harman, WV
#17
Okay....

What I'm doing is ID Search. When an interesting Talk Group ID is found, I'm programming it to one of the available Lists. 26960 is the one that is most important to me since it's the Parkway and I dispatch tow trucks to the Parkway. That ID went into 2-1 which is Priority. As other ID's come in, I'll place them in other slots.

For posterity sake, this whole thread should help quite a few peep's with their BCT8. Thanks to Steve and the others who responded. Here is a review:

I'm using a BCT8 with the Firmware upgraded. I also use Butel ARC8 and a serial cable. I did a web catch of all NJ State Police freq's from the database. These were put into one bank and that bank was set to Motorola Type II 800, 2 sec. delay, end code detect, Status Bit On and Control Channel Mode off.

After programming freq's I pressed SRCH and started getting Talk Groups.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top