Best Antenna?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgbrengel

Premium Subscriber
Looking for some input.

I'm a Sheriff's Deputy working in northern Illinois. I've been carrying a GRE PSR500 in my squad for several years now (listen to State Police, local towns...wide range from conventional uhf/vhf to digital and trunked systems).

When I first started carrying the scanner I purchased a 800 MHZ antenna for the scanner that plugs directly onto the unit however the signal strength still wasn't great. So I purchased a Larsen mag mount scanner antenna and put that on the trunk of my squad. Signal strength was great however, when I transmitted from my in-car radio the power would overload my scanner and thus, I blew out the RF board twice on my scanner and had to send it into GRE for repairs.

I'm looking for some ideas on what scanner antenna I should purchase so I get good signal reception but it's not super strong that my in-car radio overloads the scanner. The Larsen antenna seemed to work great but would make the scanner too sensitive and the 800mhz direct plugged on antenna didn't do the job.

The trick is I need to keep the antenna either mag mount or something simple (department won't allow drilling holes into the car or anything permanent).

Thanks for the help!

IowaGuy1603

Been using a mag mount scanner antenna for ages next to my ham radios (50--75 watt)

make sure there is some spacing ..............I put the ham antenna on one side and the scanner on the other side of the trunk lid

I have a mini mag mount with BNC ends that I plug my GRE800 into and slap on the roof of my transport (prisoner) van about 2 ft from the transmit antenna of our Public Safety radio

ScanWI

MN & WI DB Admin
Database Admin