BCD325P2/BCD996P2: Brand new to the scanning game, couple questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all. I am brand new to the scanning game and recently purchased my first scanner; Uniden BCD996P2.

I live in Charlotte, NC and I have a few questions for the scanner masters:

I am utilizing 'FreeScan' to set my frequencies and I have purchased donator in order to utilize the import feature, which made my life 10 times easier. Although, I am having one issue; only a few (2) of the talkgroups that were imported to the scanner actually worked.

I have 'NORTH' and 'CENTRAL' talking on my scanner but those are the only ones. These two frequencies are available on system: Charlotte / Mecklenburg County (Motorola) [MOT TYPE II]

I have numerous other systems available in the Charlotte area, such as: NC Viper, Charlotte UASI.

I am trying to get the 'South Division' and 'Providence Divisions' of the CMPD frequencies that are apart of Charlotte UASI but unfortunately it doesn't seem like anything is working.

brian

DB Administrator
Database Admin
Welcome to the hobby.

I don't live in the Charlotte area, but travel there on occasion. If you look at the database page for Mecklenburg County, you'll see that there is a link to the Charlotte UASI system with a note that it carries all Police/Fire/EMS traffic. So you need to download the frequencies/sites and talkgroups for CMPD for that system.

This information isn't obvious when just using programming software. So you can typically use the database page, and the wiki pages (linked off of the county and trunked system database pages) to help figure out which agencies are on which systems.