Brunswick Co. to upgrade their emergency radio system

Status
Not open for further replies.

central_il

Premium Subscriber
Brunswick Co. to upgrade their emergency radio system - WECT TV6 - WECT.com - Wilmington, NC news and weather -

BRUNSWICK COUNTY, NC (WECT) – Commissioners in Brunswick County voted Tuesday in favor of spending about $2 million to upgrade their emergency radio system.

Emergency responders say they can't trust the county's system and it's putting them in danger.

Soon, they'll switch to the "viper" system which is run by the state. They will also make improvements to Bolivia's radio tower, which has been the source of many complaints.

The current system is about six-years-old and also costs millions of dollars.

Read nice article on Wednesday Wilmington Star print paper on 1/19/2011. For more information, please "Google" said title above. I have zero knowledge & input on current system. Wait let me check... LTR. Enough said. Wonder why they raised property tax so much in the county...

central_il

Premium Subscriber
Thanks to 52to12

Thanks again to 5212:

County considers radio system overhaul | BrunswickBeacon.com

County considers radio system overhaul

BOLIVIA—Commissioners have given Brunswick County Emergency Services Director Anthony Marzano the green light to move forward with a plan to overhaul the county’s radio system.

Marzano has come under fire and received pressure to overhaul the system from local fire officials to change the county’s SmartLink radio system and what many people consider its impediments.

Marzano convened a committee, made up of stakeholders, emergency services staff and county commissioner Marty Cooke, to research the county’s options in revamping or getting rid of entirely the county’s radio system.

Marzano said the sheriff’s office has the greatest need for the radio switch.
“They are between two-thirds and almost 75 percent of the radio traffic on the radio system,” he said.